Amy and Gerry

Hello!

We are Amy & Gerry plus our daughter Emily from sunny Fontana, California. We would like to thank you for taking the time to get to know us and considering us as the forever family for your child. We understand how big this decision is, and we are grateful for your bravery and courage.

We have been considering adoption since we married, as we did not know if we would be able to have biological children. We were fortunate enough to have a biological child and while we have always wanted to have a bigger family, due to health complications for Amy during the birth of our daughter, we were told that she should not have any more children. Our daughter, Emily, is three-years old and is the life of the party. She is excited to be a big sister. We hope to give you comfort and peace of mind once you get to know our family. We would be deeply honored if you chose us, and promise to love and give your baby a happy, fun, loving and safe home.

About Us – Our Love Story: Our love story begins when we met 10 years ago at work. You could say it was love at first sight when our paths crossed. We came to realize that we had a lot of mutual friends, and really feel that we would have met no matter what, whether it would have been through friends or work. We started dating a month after we met and we became inseparable. We dated for 3 years before getting engaged. Gerry has always been a hopeless romantic, but somehow, the proposal was anything but what anyone would have expected. Gerry proposed after a date night as he was dropping Amy off at home. He very randomly pulled out a ring, while sitting in the car and just proposed! He later shared he really had a more elaborate plan, but the moment had just felt “right”. A year later we got married on the beach and our lifelong adventure continued.

Family Fun Facts:

  • Our birthdays are only a few days apart
  • We are foodies, and have gone on day-trips to Mexico just for tacos!
  • We have the most festive house on the block, always decorating for each season and holiday.
  • We enjoy going to concerts
  • We recently fell in love with camping
  • We love taking day and weekend trips all around Southern California, feels like we are always vacationing!
  • We’ve been on TV before in the audience of The Voice

 

Hello!

About Amy

Hi! I’m Amy: I grew up in a suburb of Los Angeles, CA. I lived next door to my grandparents growing up until our family moved to Fontana, CA, and have lived here ever since. I come from a somewhat small, but tight-knit family, which I see almost daily.

I met Gerry soon after graduating college, while taking a year off school. When I was a year old I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes, which became my motivation to become a medical social worker. I obtained a Master’s degree in Social Work and now work at a local children’s hospital as a pediatric medical social worker, specializing in babies who are at high risk for developmental delays, as well as children who have cerebral palsy. Although I work full-time, my schedule is pretty flexible and my employer is also very supportive of family needs. I was able to take a year off from work after Emily was born, and our hope is that I may be able to work part-time in the future to spend as much time with our children as possible.

Some things you should know about me are that I love crafting and gardening. I enjoy baking, and have tried decorating cakes, even though they often look like something that should be on the “Nailed It” show.

By Gerry: Amy is funny, outgoing and the smartest woman I know. She really is my best friend. She is one of the kindest, most caring, and nurturing mothers I know and that is why I love her. I can’t wait to see Amy give this same love and affection to our next child.

Amy’s Favorites:

  • Holiday or season: Christmas
  • Movie: 500 Days of Summer
  • Song: Love Song by The Cure
  • Food: Homemade enchiladas
  • TV show: It’s a tie between 90 Day Fiancé and Married at First Sight

 

About Amy

About Gerry

Hi! I’m Gerry (but it’s pronounced “Gary”): I was born in Los Angeles, California and grew up in a small rural town called Nuevo. We had no sidewalks and were woken up by a rooster every morning! In college I studied to become a teacher but took a different career path in life and became a truck driver. I move heavy construction equipment throughout Southern California. This job works out for our schedule as I am able to be out early enough to pick up our daughter and spend the rest of the day with her and our future child.

I enjoy working on my yard.  I take pride in having a nice green lawn year round.  I also enjoy walking at our local flea market and I consider myself to be a taco expert.

By Amy: Gerry is truly “cool as a cucumber.” He has such peacefulness about him that it’s pretty much contagious. He has always been a kid-person too, and is always ready for pretend play, from pretending to be a dinosaur to being a princess at a tea party. I can’t wait raise another child along someone as fun and loving as Gerry.

Gerry’s Favorites:

  • Holiday or season: Summer
  • Movie: 48 Hours
  • Song: This Charming Man by The Smiths
  • Food: Tacos
  • TV show: King of Queens
About Gerry

Meet Emily

Emily is our 3-year-old daughter. Emily is very excited to have a little brother or sister and often picks out some of her toys and tells us she is excited to be a big sister.

Emily’s Fun Facts:

  • She will choose dinosaurs over just about any other toy
  • She loves spaghetti and veggies, and enjoys picking the basil leaves off our plant to eat on her own
  • She enjoys feeding her fish, named Mr. Filet O. Fish
  • She’s a dancer and has loved dancing to Michael Jackson since she could stand on her own
  • She absolutely loves giving hugs and will always ask you if you want an even bigger hug

Our Home & Community: We live in Fontana, California, which is located in Southern California. We are a short drive from the mountains, beaches, desert and major cities like Los Angeles and San Diego. Our home is located in a safe, quiet neighborhood, on a golf course. Most of our neighbors have young children, so there are several kids to play with. We live in a 3 bedroom, two-story home, with room to play. Just walking distance from our home is a great elementary school and park. There are fun outdoor things to do in our community, including apple picking from an actual apple farm, visiting the lavender fields, going camping at a local creek, visiting a ghost town, and snowboarding in the mountains to name a few. We live about an hour away from Disneyland, Universal Studios and Knott’s Berry Farm theme parks, which we have been able to visit quite regularly!

Meet Emily

Friends and Family

We love our families! Gerry is the oldest of 4 siblings. He has 2 brothers: Rene and Manny, and 1 sister: Veronica. He also has A LOT of cousins, who now also have young children. Amy is the youngest of 2 and has an older sister, Jackie. Amy comes from a smaller extended family, but also has cousins who have young children as well.

Gerry’s mom, Maria, lives about 45 minutes away in a country-like area, where there are tons of animals like, horses, cows, and sheep to see. Some of Gerry’s aunts and uncles even have some of these animals on their farms! Unfortunately, Gerry’s father passed away a few months after we got married. Gerry’s siblings live just a few cities away. We get to see them often, and like to spend time at Gerry’s brother Rene’s new pool. Amy’s parents, Oscar and Lola, live about 10 minutes away and are our babysitters. Amy’s sister, Jackie, lives in the next city and we also see her and her family just about daily.

Family Traditions:

  • Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays are spent in different family member’s homes each year
  • 4th of July is our holiday. Our neighborhood is very big on 4th of July!
  • We take a yearly vacation to the beach in the summer where we stay for a few days
  • We have a yearly Tamale Making Party where we make tamales from scratch, following Amy’s grandmother’s recipe. Once you participate, you earn an apron to bring back each year. The kids get one too when they are old enough to participate!

With Much Appreciation: Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. We would be truly blessed and honored to go through this journey with you. Our promise to you, is that we will love your child unconditionally, and support your child through every phase of their life. We will provide a warm, caring, fun, and stable home. We believe that having open and honest communication with our children, no matter how young or old they are, is truly key to a good foundation. We will always strive to be the best possible parents we can be and are ready to bring in another child to complete our family. We hope we have given you insight and have answered some of your questions as to who we are. Once again, we thank you for considering us to be a part of this journey.

 

 

Friends and Family