Caleb & Mike

Caleb & Mike

We are Mike and Caleb! We are thrilled to share our story with you to help you with your decision. First, we want to thank you for taking the time to consider our family for your child.

We would be honored to partner with you through this stage of life. We understand your decision is not easy, but we hope you may find comfort in knowing your child will be loved.

As fathers, our goal is to show unconditional love and support for our children. We hope this book will give you meaningful view into our lives and give you a clear vision of the love our home and family has to offer.

*“Being a family means you are a part of something very wonderful. It means you will love and be loved for the rest of your life.” –Lisa Weed*

About us:
We were introduced through online dating. After a week of chatting back and forth we had our first date. After hours of conversation, we learned we had a lot in common, most importantly a common interest to have children. From that day forward, we have been inseparable. Just shy of 2 years after we met, we were married in October 2017.

Since marriage, we have been preparing to become fathers. We have reached a point in our careers where we have the flexibility to design our own schedules and ensure we can make family time the top priority. We recently moved to a home we remodeled and we feel it will be the perfect space to raise a family. We are anxiously waiting to open our hearts and home to a child.

Things we love to do are going on adventures, whether it is to a lake, the beach, or the mountains. Some of our favorite places to visit are Asheville, North Carolina and Orange Beach, Alabama. We also enjoy spending time with our family and friends.

Every year we host a big Christmas Party for them as our “thank you”. We love working on different projects around the house, especially gardening. We also enjoy playing with our dogs at the park across the street from our house. We often take them to the family farm where we swim, fish, and play with the other animals.

Caleb & Mike

Meet Caleb

I enjoy cooking, old houses, old cars and big dogs. I grew up on a farm with three older siblings. One of my favorite parts of my childhood was exploring the outdoors, getting dirty, breaking and fixing anything I could get my hands on. To this day, I still enjoy restoring older homes and working on our Jeeps.

After graduating from college and managing several businesses in Birmingham Al, I moved back to the area to assist my parents in selling the family business and prepare them for retirement. I have been a part of renovating and selling 49 homes, and I am now the owner of a home inspection company. Being self employed allows me to have a flexible schedule so I may spend time with my family.

My free time is spent outdoors working in the yard, fixing up anything old, playing with our dogs, or spending time back at the farm around the lake or in the fields. Mike and I have Jeeps that we enjoy driving around the neighborhood and to the farm to play in the mud. In addition to spending time outdoors, we also love to travel when we are able. Weekend trips to the mountains or the beach are our favorite.

One of the things about parenthood that I look forward to sharing my knowledge and experience with my children. I remember my parents and grandfather teaching me how to build fences, repair tractors and equipment, fish, grow a garden, as well as how to work and complete a job. These experiences helped me grow into the person I am today, and I can’t wait to teach these same skills to my children.

Things to know about Caleb:
1. Loves to cook
2. Voted #1 Home Inspector in our area for 2019
3. Prefers to be outside
4. Enjoys working on something
5. Loves coffee

Meet Caleb

Meet Mike

Two of my biggest passions are family and my career. Growing up in a Hispanic Culture, family is everything and that was my childhood. We were always doing fun things together as a family like cookouts, going to the movies, or traveling. I believe this is why I love “family time” so much and one of the biggest reasons that brought Caleb and I together.

I love traveling and exploring new places, as well as returning to places we have fallen in love with. I love the feeling of having a trip planned and the excitement of the days getting closer. Even just the spontaneous weekend trips can be just as fun.

One of my favorite hobbies is watching Movies. Be it going to the theater or watching something at home, I just love the story a film can tell. Some of my favorite film series are Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Twilight, The Fast and Furious, Marvel, and Disney Movies. Caleb will also tell you I can watch the same movies over and over again.

Some of my guilty pleasures are video games and Pro Wrestling. I enjoy playing my Xbox or Playstation when I have some free time. Caleb will also get in on the action and play Super Mario Bros or Mario Kart on the Switch. Pro Wrestling is something I have been watching since I was a kid. It is not Caleb’s favorite hobby of mine but he is a good sport about it, and even attends events with me.

For my career, I am a Center Administrator for the Georgia Department of Community Supervision. In my position, I am a certified Peace Officer that is over a Day Reporting Program. The program is a rehab program with the goal of reducing recidivism.

When describing my position to others, I often say it is like being the principal of a school. What I enjoy most about my position are the success stories. I love being able to witness the progress people make from the time they first come into my program to when they graduate.

Things to know about Mike:
1. Gymnastics Coach for 8 years
2. High School and College Cheerleader
3. Holds an Associates, Bachelors, and a Masters Degree in Criminal Justice

Meet Mike

Friends and Family

It is said that “It takes a village to raise a child”… Since we met, we have been building our village and are overwhelmed by the support of our friends and family in this process.

The farm where Caleb’s parents live is about 15 miles from our home. Caleb’s parents are enjoying their retirement and are so excited to be able to be part of our child’s life. Caleb’s siblings are spread out, but we still manage to see each other at least once per year. One sister lives in India where she and her family are directors of a special needs orphanage. The other sister and brother live in driving distance and are both in the medical field.

Caleb has 3 nephews and 5 nieces, but we both consider ourselves uncles to all the kids in the orphanage. We look forward to returning to India to visit the orphanage again.

Mike’s father lives just over an hour away and visits us frequently. He is retired and ready to welcome his third grandchild. Mike’s sister and her family live in San Antonio, Texas. Mike has a nephew and niece. We are usually able to spend time with them twice a year. Mike’s mother was the embodiment of love and kindness, and she is watching over us from heaven.

Our friends and neighbors have been actively engaged with our adoption journey. Many of our close friends have children, some of which are adopted as well.

Friends and Family

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

We love the home we have built together. We are located in a historic district overlooking a beautiful park in the heart of our town. We have spent the last few years restoring the home as we prepare to expand our family.

Our favorite part about this home is the ability to walk to the playground or creek, travel a short distance to the numerous restaurants our downtown has to offer, or watch little league baseball games from our front porch.

We enjoy growing vegetables in our garden. Often we make salsa and jellies from our garden to give to our friends.

We live in a medium sized city in which many large companies are headquartered. Our city is constantly growing and continues to impress us with its diversity. The city hosts many events in our thriving downtown.

Things we enjoy doing downtown include going to the farmers market, attending the outside concerts, eating at the local restaurants, or catching a play at the local theater.

The city is located on the banks of the Chattahoochee River which provides for many outdoor activities less than 2 miles from our home. We also have a museum, a space learning center, a minor league hockey and indoor football team. There is always something for the family to do here.

We thank you for taking the time to learn about our family. We are committed to devoting our hearts and lives to the well being of our child.

As you move forward with making this decision, we hope you may find peace and comfort knowing your child will be the light of our lives.

We promise to teach and encourage, to listen and learn, to show unconditional love and cherish each moment with this child for the rest of our lives.

Our Home and Closing Thoughts