Chantal and DJ

To a Very Special Woman

Hello! We are Chantal & DJ! Together with our son Jules and dog Bink, we live in the Netherlands, a country located in Europe. We are so thankful that you are taking the time to get to know us a little better. We cannot imagine the difficult decisions you may be facing throughout this process. We want to let you know that we have so much respect for your choice and we think that you are brave, thoughtful and strong to be considering what is best for you and your child. We offer our open hearts, a home filled with love, and will give your child everything they need to be safe, stable, happy and healthy.

On Adoption: We adopted our son Jules in the United States and can’t wait to grow our family through adoption again. We hope you can follow your heart and find the loving family you imagine for your child.

Our journey towards becoming parents was long after struggling with infertility. Open adoption felt right to us because we believe children should understand and know about all parts of themselves and be connected to their birth families. We are also excited to embrace and welcome you into our lives in whatever ways feel comfortable for you, and provide all the love and support we can. We are trying to adopt in the United States again because we’ve made several travels through it and we fell in love with your country. Unfortunately, in our country it is still difficult to pursue adoption so we are grateful to be able to pursue adoption in the U.S.

Our Story: Our story begins in 2008 when we became colleagues. We were drawn to one another immediately; Chantal to DJ’s sweet, honest and funny personality and DJ to Chantal’s warm, open and loyal personality. DJ asked Chantal to marry him on her birthday during a beautiful hike in New Zealand. We got married in 2015 during a beautiful ceremony with all our loved ones.

We are happy to call the Netherlands our home. At home, during the week, we tend to have relaxed evenings at home where we enjoy time together as a family, dance, play, cook dinner and watch Netflix. We kick the weekend off with Chantal’s pancakes and then enjoy activities like walking, cycling, playing in our garden, cuddling the animals from our neighborhood farm, and reading or hanging out with family and friends. We also love to travel and made some amazing trips to the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Hawaii and Fiji. We cannot wait to share our sense of adventure with our children someday.

Our Favorites:

  • Spending time with our loved ones
  • Making our son Jules giggle and smile
  • Our dog Bink and all animals: we are animal lovers!
  • Anything outdoors: a hike, a bike ride, swimming, or a BBQ with our loved ones
  • Our Friday night tradition of burgers and Netflix – Some of our favorites shows are Ozark, The Crown, Narcos and Bridgerton
  • Traveling to new places

 

To a Very Special Woman

About Chantal

About Chantal by Chantal: I grew up in a warm, loving and open family with my parents and two younger sisters. I had a lovely and supportive childhood.

My strong sense of justice and helping people led me into working as a detective for the law enforcement. We really want to enjoy spending time with our family. Therefore, we both are working less so there will always be someone home with the new baby. I’m so lucky to have a really flexible job where everything is possible.

I love to spend time with my loved ones, cooking, reading, horseback riding and traveling.

More About Chantal by DJ: Chantal is an amazing mother to our son, Jules. Besides that she is a loving and supportive wife. She sees the best in people and makes them feel at ease and welcomed. I am spoiled because Chantal is also a fantastic cook. I can’t wait to see Chantal become a mother again.

Fun Facts About Chantal:

  • Favorite food: Cheesecake and Fries
  • Favorite music: Nina Simone, Angus and Julia, The Weeknd
  • Favorite color: Pink and Green
  • Favorite animals: Dog and Orca
  • Favorite sport: Horseback Riding
  • Favorite things to do: Travel
  • Guilty pleasures: Wearing my onesie on a Sunday and watching Keeping up with the Kardashians

 

About Chantal

About DJ

About DJ by DJ: I grew up in a small village in the north of the Netherlands with my loving parents and older sister.

For work I am a lieutenant for the law enforcement. I love my job because I get to help people and I hope to make the world a little bit safer. A safer world is also what I want for my family. Their safety is my biggest priority.

In my spare time I enjoy cycling, gardening, spending time with our families and friends, and traveling.

More About DJ by Chantal: DJ is a calm, sweet, patient and funny father to our son Jules. My heart bursts with love when I see them together and how Jules adores him. He has the utmost respect and love for his family and friends. DJ always has a smile on his face and is up for whatever adventure lies ahead from traveling to Australia or cycling through New Zealand. We’re best friends who love, support and respect each other. I can’t wait to parent another child with DJ by my side.

Fun Facts About DJ:

  • Favorite food: Tacos and Burgers
  • Favorite music: Angus and Julia
  • Favorite color: Green and Blue
  • Favorite animal: Orca and Dog
  • Favorite sports: Cycling and Rugby
  • Favorite things to do: Cycling and Travel
  • Guilty pleasure: Cheesecake

 

About DJ

Meet Jules

Jules is our beautiful son who was born in Texas. We adopted him in 2019 and he has been the light of our lives ever since. Jules is loving, energetic and smart. It has been amazing seeing him grow up and develop his own interests. Jules loves trucks and tractors and can be found driving them all over our house. He loves to dance, wrestling with dad, reading his favorite books and climbing up anything he can.

We feel so privileged that Jules’s birth mother chose us to raise him. We continue to keep in touch with Jules’s birth mother and talk openly about adoption with Jules.

We can’t wait to see Jules as a big brother and have someone to grow up and experience life with as well as have adoption in common.

Meet Bink: Bink is our little dog. He is super friendly and loves dog biscuits. Bink and Jules adore each other. Sometimes he chases him around but he doesn’t mind. He is a sweet dog and we know he would be great with a new baby too.

Home Sweet Home: We live in a warm and cozy house in a small village in the north of the Netherlands. Our home reflects our many interests: delicious smells from the kitchen where Chantal loves cooking and spending quality time together; all kinds of music on the radio especially jazz; and mementos from our travels all over the world. We have a big garden where we love to play and discover nature. During summer we love to swim in our pool. We have friendly neighbors who help each other out and we’re so happy to live close to our family.

Our neighborhood is a safe, friendly and great place to raise a child, with good schools, lots of young families, shopping and plenty of parks and playgrounds to go wild on!

 

Meet Jules

The People We Love

We both come from close-knit families. Our families truly mean the world to us! We are blessed to have an extremely supportive and caring family, with lots of love between them. Beyond our immediate families, we are blessed with a close circle of friends. Our friends are those that look out for one another, are extremely kind and are there for us when needed. They are all very excited and supportive to welcome another precious little one into their hearts.

Our weekends and holidays are often spent with our family and friends. We love to organize amazing family Christmas dinners with lots of presents. We also celebrate the 4th of July with a barbecue for family and friends. Chantal’s cheesecakes and burgers are our favorites on this day. Whenever it is possible we are spending time with our families and like to have family dinners together.

About the Netherlands: We live in the Netherlands, which is a small prosperous country in Western Europe. We love our country! The Netherlands takes good care of all its inhabitants, it’s a safe country, has a great educational system and really good health care system. Research shows that Dutch children are the happiest in the world. The Netherlands is also known for its respect for human diversity, with progressive legislation for women and gay rights.

A Special Message to You: Thank you for taking the time to review our profile & begin to get to know us. We promise to give your child all the love, care and opportunity we can give. We promise to raise them with patience, provide them with a good education and allow them the ability to pursue any interest they may have throughout their life. We promise to raise your child in a home full of love, respect, nurturing, support, laughter, forgiveness and understanding.

We will always be honest with your child about their story including their heritage, answering their questions with sensitivity, and celebrating together what makes them and each of us special. You would always be known as the greatest women who gave them the miracle of life and to us, the woman who gave us the greatest gift of love. We’re ready and waiting to take this next step and excited by the possibilities of sharing it with you in whatever ways feel comfortable for you. We truly wish you the best on your journey. Sending warm thoughts your way.

Chantal, DJ and Jules

The People We Love