Dana and Brian

Hello, Hola and Ciao!

We are Dana, Brian, and Milo from San Diego, California. We have been happily married for 7 years and together for 10 years.  We have a two-year-old adopted son Milo and are so excited to grow our family again through adoption.

We would like to begin by expressing our appreciation for the strength we imagine it takes for you to consider adoption for your baby. We are honored to be considered as a family for your child. Our goal with this letter is to provide you with a snapshot of what life with our family would be like for your baby. We know this decision is difficult so we invite you to get to know us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to introduce our family to you.

Why We’re Adopting: Since Dana was a little girl she knew she always wanted to adopt a child in addition to giving birth. Due to infertility issues, we were unable to conceive. Since adopting our son Milo through open adoption, we feel that this journey is so special and meaningful that we want to continue to grow our family by adopting another child.

Here’s Our Love Story: We met and fell in love in New York City where we are originally from. It was a modern love story started online, continued with an exciting dating life filled with a mutual love of cooking, travel and lots of laughter. Since then, we moved to San Diego where Dana had the opportunity to start a new job and we recently bought our first house.

We are best friends and super supportive of each other. Family and friends would describe our relationship as loving, open, dedicated, and full of adventure. These ideals are important to us and we will raise our children with these sensibilities. We have a strong and loving foundation as a married couple and look forward to the next adventure in our lives, becoming parents again through open adoption.

Things We Like to Do as a Family:

  • Going to the zoo (we love the Rhinos and elephants!)
  • Face timing with Gigi and Pop (Grandma and Grandpa)
  • Playing with toy cars and puzzles
  • Playing at the park, the swing and slide are our favorites
  • Going to the beach and playing in the sand
  • Reading books
  • Going on hikes

 

Hello, Hola and Ciao!

About Dana

Meet Dana by Dana: I grew up in a small town in NJ, just outside of New York City. I’m the oldest of three children and have two younger sisters and 2 nieces and 2 nephews. My parents have been marred for 47 years and their relationship inspires me. Growing up I would spend a lot of time with my cousins as well as babysitting.  Spending time with Milo is the best part of my day.  I learn something new every day and cherish all the time I’ve been able to spend with him this past year watching him grow.

When not spending time with my family, I work for a large hospital as a Director of Operations. My job is to work with physicians and patients to make their experience a better one and to help expand programs. I have a lot of flexibility in my job that allows me to work from home several days a week.

Brian on Dana: Dana is so sweet, loving and thoughtful. She values family and uses baking to bring people together. The courage she exhibits with adapting to new situations is truly inspiring. Dana is an amazing mother and is always coming up with creative and fun things to do with Milo.

Dana’s Fun Facts:

  • Favorite things to do: Baking, travelling, spending time with family and reading
  • Favorite music: U2, 90’s Alternative, Guster
  • Favorite foods: Chocolate chip cookies, pizza and sushi
About Dana

About Brian

Meet Brian by Brian: I grew up in Brooklyn, NY and have a younger brother. My family is warm, loud and loving. One of my fondest memories growing up were Sunday dinners with my entire family, where we would laugh, tell stories and eat delicious homemade food. As a kid, I loved playing all sports with the kids in the neighborhood, but my favorites were football and track. I can see this sense of adventure and athleticism in Milo. I‘m so excited to teach Milo how to ride his bike and can’t wait to continue the outdoor adventures.  I love teaching Milo new things and can’t wait to do it again with another child.

When I’m not daydreaming about traveling, I work as a Business Manager for a children’s hospital. My job is 100% remote which allows me to have a lot of flexibility in my schedule.

Dana on Brian: Brian is hard working and determined. This drive really inspires me to be a better person. One of the things I love most about Brian is he’s a big goofball and loves to make me laugh. Whether it’s a funny face or telling a silly joke, he always knows how to brighten my day. Brian’s love for travel and adventure has inspired me to want to continue exploring the world.

Brian is an amazing, involved father with Milo. He helps with everything and isn’t afraid to get his hands dirty.

Brian’s Fun Facts:

  • Favorite things to do: Watch the NY Yankees (baseball), go hiking, Barbeque for family and friends, stay fit and plan family vacations
  • Favorite music: Hip-Hop, R&B, 90’s grunge music and today’s hits
  • Favorite foods: Tacos, pizza, BBQ ribs (that he cooks) and avocados
About Brian

About Milo

Milo on Milo – The Big Brother to Be: I’m so excited to become a big brother! I can’t wait to protect my little brother or sister and show them the ropes! I love hanging out with my best friend, we do everything together.

I love being active and outside, bike riding, climbing, and playing with bubbles. I also have a more mellow side where I love to play with puzzles, draw, read books and snuggle with my teddy bear while watching Cocomelon, Paw Patrol and Sesame Street.

Milo’s Fun Facts:

  • Favorite activities: Riding my bike, Climbing, Playing with Legos
  • Favorite foods: Pizza, Berries, Goldfish crackers
  • Favorite books: The Very Hungry Caterpillar, There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly and Goodnight Moon
About Milo

Our Family and Friends

Our immediate and extended families are on the east coast and we love visiting a few times a year. Dana and Brian’s parents are active grandparents and are so excited to welcome another grandchild into their lives. We are thankful to be surrounded by a great group of friends and love getting together for play dates and barbecues.

Top 3 Traditions:

  • Making Easter baskets and having an egg hunt
  • Hosting a Friendsgiving (for Thanksgiving)
  • Trimming the Christmas tree while listen to holiday music

Home Sweet Home: We love our life in this part of the world, it’s amazing! We just bought our first home and live in a quiet neighborhood in San Diego, with lots of kids and terrific schools. There is an amazing park just down the street. Our house is central to many amazing parts of the city, including hiking, the beach, and the zoo. Our house is cozy, warm and always filled with laughter.

Our Furry Friends: We love Mexican culture and one of our favorite movies is Coco; we love the mystical Tiger/Eagle (named Pepita, and who our kitten is named for) that protects Miguel. Both Pepita and Leo love to snuggle, hang out with Milo and lay in the sun.

Final Thoughts: Thank you for taking the time to get to know our family.  We are honored that you are considering us as an adoptive family. We have so much love and time to give your child and hope to make a connection with you. We love being parents and consider parenthood a privilege and honor.  We are looking forward to continuing this journey and raise another child to be a caring, thoughtful, and independent individual.

It means the world to us to have the opportunity to grow our family and welcome another child into our family.

Our Promises:

  • We are committed to providing your child with a stable home, and unconditional love around a diverse group of family and friends
  • We are committed to providing your child with the best educational opportunities available
  • We are passionate about supporting your child as they learn about themselves, their passions and becoming a strong member of the community
  • We are committed to helping your child develop a strong moral compass, instilling a sense of service and the desire to make the world a better place
Our Family and Friends