Dawn & Teresa

Hi! We are Dawn and Teresa!

To An Amazing Person: Welcome! We are excited to share our story! We are Teresa and Dawn FROM SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA. We have wanted to raise a child since we first met and are so grateful to be considered as the parents for your child.

We truly admire your courageous and unselfish decision to choose adoption. We are friends with several families who have had wonderful adoption experiences, and we are excited to raise a child of our own through adoption.

We promise to give your child all the love and opportunities you would want for them, and to nurture them through life to become a caring, strong and happy person. WE WILL BE OPEN ABOUT THEIR AMAZING ADOPTION STORY, AND LET THEM KNOW HOW SPECIAL THEY ARE, how much they are loved, and how lucky we are to have them in our lives.

About Us: We met while doing something we both love – hiking! Teresa was the leader for a local hiking club trip in Southern California that Dawn signed up for with mutual friends. For Dawn, it was love at first sight. For Teresa, it took a few more hours after Dawn shared her peanut butter sandwich and an enormous bag of popcorn she had stuffed into her backpack.

We soon realized we had a lot in common, ESPECIALLY THE IMPORTANCE OF FAMILY, AND THE DESIRE TO HAVE A FAMILY OF OUR OWN. In other ways we are yin and yang! Dawn taught art after college, while Teresa taught science. Dawn loves to cook; Teresa likes to tinker with electronic gadgets.

We are an active couple and like hiking and camping together. We also volunteer in our church and community. We cook for a local food kitchen and lead hikes for children and adults.

We have been together more than ten years and got married in 2016. We are a very spiritual couple and want to share our blessings with our child. We are fortunate to have great jobs, a strong education, a beautiful home, and loving families and friends.

Family Is Very Important To Us: We both come from large, close-knit families that are very supportive of our marriage as a same-sex couple. Dawn’s brother Jim is also gay and has 3 young boys. Our families are excited for us to become parents and welcome a new family member.

Things We Love To Do Together:
• Hiking & camping
• Spending time with our families
• Playing with our nieces and nephews
• Volunteering in our community
• Traveling
• Going to the zoo
• Celebrating holidays
• Visiting theme parks, especially Harry Potter
• Going to the beach

Hi! We are Dawn and Teresa!

Meet Dawn

Thoughts About Dawn by Teresa: Dawn likes to help everyone and make sure they are happy. She especially loves to feed people! She dotes on me and our cats and makes our home very “homey.” She is my best friend and partner in life.

DAWN LOVES CHILDREN AND SPENDS A LOT OF TIME WITH OUR NIECES AND NEPHEWS, whatever their age or interests – whether it’s camping, shopping, movies, or the zoo. They like being with her because she gives them a lot of attention, is affectionate and listens to them.

About Dawn, BY DAWN: I grew up in the country outside Baltimore, surrounded by horse farms and green hills. I COME FROM TWO BIG FAMILIES – MY MOTHER’S ITALIAN FAMILY AND MY FATHER’S SOUTHERN FAMILY. We have regular family reunions where we eat great food and have a lot of fun! I have two younger brothers, two of my best friends. I had wonderful, loving parents, but lost my mother several years ago. She was an amazing role model, and I learned from her what it means to be a good parent. I have a wonderful Dad who I am close with.

As a child, I loved being outside in nature and sketching. I studied art in college and got a Master’s degree in art and taught art. I now work in corporate marketing and enjoy my job because it is creative, yet I can help others and work from home part of each week.

My Favorite Things To Do Are: Spending time with Teresa and my family! Cooking, baking, hiking, jogging, and painting.

Meet Dawn

Meet Teresa

Thoughts About Teresa, by Dawn: Teresa is a kid in a grownup body! SHE HAS A WONDERFUL BALANCE OF PLAYFULNESS AND CARING THAT I NOTICED RIGHT AWAY. Our nieces and nephews enjoy being with her whether she is teaching them about science, taking them kayaking and hiking, or just playing games. Teresa loves to learn and is always studying something new. Yet she is very down to earth. With her Texan accent and playfulness, most people are surprised to know she has a PhD from Yale. She fits in anywhere.

ONE OF THE THINGS I ADMIRE IS THAT SHE ALWAYS SEES THE GOOD IN THE WORLD. Teresa is my best friend in every way and I look forward to raising our own child together.

About Teresa, by Teresa: I grew up in rural East Texas with my parents, two older sisters and one older brother, 18 goats, 4 cattle, 2 horses, and many chickens, dogs, and cats. I spent my summers out in the woods – making trails, building tree houses, and riding my horse.

My love of animals led me to study biology in college and graduate with a PhD from Yale. After spending many years in research and teaching, I now work as a consultant because I can help in the medical field and have more flexibility in my schedule.

MY FAVORITE THINGS…. Animals! Going to the zoo and to the beach. Hiking, snorkeling, and riding horses.

Meet Teresa

Meet Our Family

WE HAVE BOTH BEEN BLESSED WITH CLOSE-KNIT FAMILIES WHERE LOVE IS UNLIMITED AND UNCONDITIONAL. Your child will be a truly loved member of our family.

Dawn’s dad Jim and stepmom Gail live near Baltimore, as does her brother Bob and his wife and five children. Dawn’s other brother, Jim, and his husband have three young boys. Teresa’s mom Kathleen and dad Charles live in Texas, outside Houston. Teresa is the baby, with two older sisters, Cheryl and Kristi, and one older brother, James, who all live near Houston with their families.

We have eleven nieces and nephews from age 4 to 25! Our child will have many cousins to grow up with.

We take a long winter vacation every year so that we can spend part of the Christmas holiday in Texas and part in Maryland and share our holiday family traditions together. Dawn bakes Christmas cookies with Teresa’s mom, and Teresa helps organizes the Secret Santa gift exchange with Dawn’s brothers.

For summer vacations with our family, Dawn’s family has a crab feast in her dad’s backyard, and Teresa’s family likes to go boating on the river near their house. Our families are very accepting of us as a same-sex couple and treat us both like daughters.

Meet Our Family

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Our Home and Community: We own a single-family home in a quiet suburb in the Santa Monica mountains, near Los Angeles and 20 minutes from the beach. OUR NEIGHBORHOOD HAS A LOT OF FAMILIES WITH YOUNG CHILDREN AND VERY GOOD SCHOOLS. People are friendly and like being outside, walking their dogs and kids in strollers. There are many parks nearby to take our child.

No home is complete without pets. We have two indoor cats, Speedy and Olivia, who get along well and like people. We call them cat dogs! They’re best friends and love watching the birds that come to our bird feeders.

Our Promise To You: We thank you from our hearts to yours, for reading about us and considering us to raise your baby. We are excited to become parents, and promise to give your child a happy home of love and many opportunities.

We know this is one of the most difficult and important decisions you will make, and we wish you love and peace in the journey. We look forward to hearing from you and getting to know you. As you make this important decision, please know that we care about you and think you are an amazing, brave, and generous person.

Our Home and Closing Thoughts