Gary and Manali

Dear Birth Mother

Hello! We are Gangadhar (“Gary”) and Manali from Tennessee! Before anything else, we want you to know how grateful we are for you and how much we admire you. We can’t imagine the mixture of emotions you are feeling. We realize how strong and courageous you are in making this decision. We are also thankful for the profound joy you will bring to our lives by making our family complete. We know you are looking for a caring home and future for your child, and we hope our profile will give you a glimpse in our lives and show how much love and happiness we have to share.  Maybe we are looking for each other! God has presented adoption as a plan for us to fulfill our dream of parenthood, and we are very thankful to you for bringing this dream to reality.

Our Story, Told By Manali

We met and became friends in India in 1990 , when we were in fourth grade (elementary school sweethearts)! Our friendship bloomed into love during college and Gary proposed to me before moving to the United States for higher studies. Later, I also moved to the United States to pursue my master’s degree and get married. We share a very strong bond of love and friendship as we passed the very hard long-distance relationship test of almost 3 years when Gary was in the US and I was still in India. This showed us how much we were in love and ready to commit.

Gary Loves:

  • Reading books
    • Favorite Book- Predictably Irrational
  • Playing soccer
  • Watching Football and Basketball
    • Football favorite team: Alabama Crimson Tide
    • Basketball favorite team: Memphis Tigers & Duke Blue Devils
  • Working on cars
  • Baking cookies and cakes

Manali Loves:

  • Singing
    • Bollywood songs
  • Painting
    • Nature
  • Knitting
    • Headbands, Beanies, Hand warmers
  • Embroidery
  • Cooking
    • Favorite Indian dish: Saag paneer
    • Favorite western dish: Pasta and hamburgers
  • Reading
    • Favorite Book: No Easy Day, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Together we love:

  • Hiking/running
    • Local trials, St. Jude Marathon
  • Gardening
  • Watching movies and TV shows
    • Favorite movies: Rocky series, Mrs. Doubtfire, The Departed, Inception
    • TV shows: Friends, Everybody Loves Raymond, Homeland
  • Cooking/Baking
    • Cookies, chocolate cake, cornbread
  • Trying different cuisines
    • Chinese
    • Memphis BBQ
Dear Birth Mother

About Gary

About Gary, by Gary

I grew up as an only child in the western state of Maharashtra, India. I played soccer and cricket as a child and currently participate in a local recreational soccer league. I love to travel with Manali and explore different places and their cuisines. I always love to relax with a good book in my hand. Every so often, I try to learn something new whether it’s cooking, baking, or learning a new language. For my cooking, Manali is the go-to taste-tester. I like being a handyman around the house and exploring how things work so I can fix them. I am a Quality Engineer, and work in a medical device company which manufactures foot, ankle, and shoulder implants. I am involved in making sure that the implants pass the design criteria and are safe to be implanted in a person’s body. My job involves monitoring the manufacturing process of making implants and reporting any irregularities to engineers working in various departments like the Manufacturing, Process, and Design Engineering. My work rarely involves any traveling and will allow me to spend lot of time with our future child. I have always loved spending time with my and Manali’s nephew and niece doing various activities like watching Curious George, exploring corn mazes, playing LEGOs, and playing basketball or soccer. I am looking forward to teaching and guiding our future child as they grow up.

More on Gary, by Manali

Gary is the best thing that ever happened to me. He is my soulmate. I know that he will make a wonderful, loving and caring father. He loves playing chess or spending time in the backyard with his nephews and nieces. He plays with them and they enjoy each other’s company. He likes to teach them different tricks, read them story books, or just be with them. His sincere and hardworking nature will definitely help in sculpting a beautiful human being. I can’t wait to see him become a father.

About Gary

About Manali

About Manali, by Manali

I was raised in Pune, India with a younger brother. I always treated him as my baby brother and played with him, but I also protected him, as he is 6 years younger than me.

To relax, I love to listen to music, sing, read and be outside in the sun. I also love cooking and feeding friends and family. Gary and I love to travel together, and we enjoy road trips and visiting new places. I nurture the time we spend together.

I am a scientist at heart. I always loved science, and especially biology, in the school. I started my career as a laboratory researcher and currently I manage clinical studies for a medical device company that manufactures hip and knee implants. This job gives me work satisfaction and it also provides me with flexibility. I look forward to being able to spend quality time with my future child and take good care of them whenever they need it.

More on Manali, by Gary

I am lucky to have Manali as my wife. Having spent the last 10 years together, I can definitely say that opposites attract. Manali is very spontaneous and lively, while I have thoughtful and silent nature. We complement each other and enjoy each other’s company. Together we like to go on road trips, explore new places, and try new food. Additionally, Manali is a very kind and caring person. Given her nature, I know that she can raise our future child with the utmost care and love that only a mother can.

About Manali

Our Family and Friends

Gary’s family – I grew up in a very caring environment. My mom is a very good cook and we all love to have family dinners together. Being an elementary and middle school teacher, she enjoys interacting with kids. During my school years, I spent a lot of time with my mother in the house. I helped her with the household chores, which eventually helped me become independent when I moved away from home. My father is an engineer and creative at heart. He likes to build things from scratch and loves to spend time teaching kids to do crafts. I learned many of my tinkering skills by watching and helping my father fix things around the house. My parents visit us often and we like to spend time together.

Manali’s Family – My family LOVES to be together. My mom is a homemaker and the most caring and loving person. She always mentions that the best time of her life was when my brother and I were kids! She is creative, artistic, and the best cook I know! My father is an engineer and likes to read. They visit us often and we go on family trips as they love travelling and exploring new places too. They can’t wait to meet their future grandchild and are excited to pamper them with all their love and happiness. My brother Vidish and his wife Uma are my second closest family. Vidish and Uma live in Melbourne, Australia and they are very excited to have their nephew/niece visit them in Australia.

 Family and Holiday Traditions

  • Cousins and family: We have cousns in Raleigh, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Tulsa, OK. We meet often every year. Either they come visit us, or we visit them to spend time together during summer breaks or festivities. We like to visit Gary’s uncles once in a while who live in Texas and Chicago.
  • Diwali: Diwali is celebrated by Indians and is called the festival of lights. It symbolizes the victory of light over darkness. We celebrate it with our cousins. We love to wear Indian attires- Saree (for women), and Kurta (for men). We cook together Indian sweets like ladoo (ball shaped sweet made up of gram fluor, sugar, and butter), and savory snacks and we light oil lamps in patio or porch.

Christmas: We have our cousins over during Christmas. We put gifts for the kids in their stockings, and decorate a Christmas tree where the kids can hang their favorite ornaments. We cook dishes like green bean caserole, chicken, or lasagna and have fun

Our Family and Friends

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Hello from Memphis, TN!

We live in a single-family home in a suburb of Memphis, TN. Our neighborhood is extremely family oriented, and many of the families have young children. We are literally 2 minutes away from a kiddie play area and a small lake. We love being outside whenever we get a chance. We go for walks/runs in the neighborhood and enjoy sitting on a bench with a book along the lake, which is very soothing after a busy day. Gary loves gardening and taking care of all the plants we have. I love being in the sun and helping him plant the veggies and flower plants. We have cute little bunnies that come visit us now and then in our backyard! We can’t wait to share these experiences with our future child.

Closing Thoughts

Last but not the least, we would like to thank you for spending your time to take a peek into our lives. We assure you that your child will receive all the love, care, support and security. We welcome them with an open heart. We have had a blessed life so far and are excited to have a new addition to our family. We are ready to take the responsibility that comes with raising a child and are more than ready to be parents. Both of our families have supported us in this journey, and they can’t wait to meet their future grandchild!

Our Promise to your child:

  1. We will honor your child’s culture, uniqueness, and their ancestry
  2. Let your child know that you love them
  3. Invest in their good education and progress
  4. Teach them to value culture and languages through books and travel
  5. Provide them unconditional love and support
  6. Protect them and provide safe and loving place to grow
  7. Always be for them be it good times or bad
  8. Teach them good values, patience, empathy towards others
Our Home and Closing Thoughts