Kathryn and Joe

Dear Birth Mother

Hello! We are Kathryn and Joe from Carlsbad, California. Thank you so much for taking the time to look through our profile. The following pages are just a snapshot of who we are. We understand that we can’t possibly express everything about us in a small book. What we hope you will take away from this is that we are a fun-loving, friendly, and nurturing couple. We love each other more than anything, and we are so excited and hopeful to welcome a child into that love.

We have been married for 6 years, and when it came to our decision to grow our family, we knew immediately that adoption would be our path. We have always been drawn to adopting since before we were married, when we would discuss having children in the future. Having biological children wasn’t something we felt strongly about, especially with so many perfect children in the world. We can’t imagine what you are feeling right now as you look through these pages, but we thank you for being here. We hope to provide the love and support you need to make this process as smooth and easy as possible for you and your baby, no matter what decision you make.

About Us:

We met 11 years ago in college. Joe was scheduled to take a history class but made a last-minute decision to switch to a photography class and sat right next to Kathryn. We shared photo supplies and bonded over our love of funny movies, art museums, and our similar upbringings in large families. Three years of laughs and memories later, we got engaged and had a very special wedding with those most important to us – our extended family and friends.

We were both born and raised in the Chicago suburbs but moved to California a month after getting married. We had fallen in love with California’s scenery and outdoor lifestyle on trips to visit friends, and knew it would be the perfect place to raise a family. We bought a house in a neighborhood we love, not far from the beach. With great schools, parks, playgrounds and hiking trails nearby, we can picture our home being the perfect place to raise a child! We are close with our neighbors and spend Sunday evenings chatting in our front yards and playing with their kids. Currently Joe is very popular with the kiddos in the neighborhood because he can draw all their favorite superheros in sidewalk chalk!

Dear Birth Mother

About Joe

I was born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago, with my parents and 3 siblings. I was an athletic child and still enjoy playing a variety of sports such as softball, dodgeball and kickball in local leagues here in California. I have had a passion for art from a young age, and majored in Graphic Design while attending college in Chicago. As a graphic designer, I now create artwork for products from t-shirts to bicycles to board games. I was lucky to work for a board game company for a few years and have collected lots of games I can’t wait to play with our future child. I am very close with my parents and siblings, as well as my cousins and extended family, and we see family often despite the geographical distance. My oldest sister has two children, our niece and nephew, who are 8 and 4 years old. I love to chat with them about their art via FaceTime often! I’m fortunate to work from home multiple days a week, which provides me with a flexible schedule. A few of my favorite things include:

Movie: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Food: Chicago-style deep dish pizza

Hobby: Playing board games

Kid’s Movie: Paddington

Color: Blue

Place to visit: Hawaii

About Joe by Kathryn:

Joe is an incredibly dedicated and generous partner, giving the most of himself in everything he does. He always strives to make life easier for me, bringing a calm sense of stability to our relationship. He is the rock of the family and my best friend. He is helpful and thoughtful, always there for me and others when needed. My favorite thing about Joe is his sense of humor and how much he makes me laugh. He is a child at heart and connects so well with children on their level, treating them with respect and always winning them over with his love of games. He is a great uncle, and I can’t wait to see him as a father!

About Joe

About Kathryn

Born and raised just outside of Chicago, Illinois, I grew up a very imaginative and creative child. I loved to make up games and play with my sister and cousins who lived nearby. I have fond memories of Christmastime particularly, with lots of family gathered around my grandma’s kitchen. I loved art, dance, and fashion. I studied Fashion Design in college and still sew and collect vintage clothing in my spare time. I had a career in customer service management until recently and have spent the last few months babysitting part time, in anticipation of welcoming a child into our family. It has given me so much joy! I plan to be a stay-at-home mom full time and can’t wait to explore the world with a child and see the world through their eyes. A few of my favorites are:

Movie: Lord of the Rings

Food: Sushi

Hobby: Dancing

Kid’s Movie: Beauty and the Beast

Place to visit: Disneyland

About Kathryn by Joe:

Kathryn is a smart, funny and adventurous person who loves to travel. She is intuitive and has an uncanny way of sensing just what others need, which makes her a great friend and will make her a great mother. She is a wonderful listener and so easy to talk to, giving great advice. I can always count on her to make me laugh with her wit and humor. She is very nurturing and caring, and has lots of love to give. She is also very responsible, organized, and intelligent. All of these qualities make her a wonderful wife and friend, and she will be a great mother too!

 

About Kathryn

Our Family and Friends

When we first began dating, one of the things that we loved about each other was how similar our families seemed, having grown up with lots of aunts, uncles and cousins. We both had fond memories of yearly family trips, reunions and holidays. Today we feel fortunate to have the love and support of our family throughout our adoption journey. Kathryn’s parents are more than excited to be first-time grandparents, and Joe’s parents are so thrilled to add a grandchild to their two. Kathryn’s sister, Laura, is also so excited to be a first-time aunt! Though our families, including our siblings and their spouses, still live in Chicago, we see them often. Kathryn’s parents spend a month each year in California and plan to spend more time here when they are grandparents. Joe’s sister is also planning a trip to visit with her two kids so we can take everyone to Disneyland! We spend the holidays in Chicago each year as well and try to vacation with our parents and siblings when possible.

We are thrilled to welcome a child of any race into our lives. We are fortunate to live in an area and to be a part of a community where there is diversity and many multi-racial and adoptive families. We have close friends who were adopted and who have adopted children, and they make up our wonderful community of friends who, in addition to our family, are very excited to welcome our future child into their lives.

 

Our Family and Friends

Our Home and Community

We live in the northern suburbs of San Diego, about 40 minutes from the city. It’s close enough for us to benefit from all San Diego has to offer, including the zoo, museums, and waterfront, but far enough away to have our own little quiet place to call home. We are also close to Disneyland and visit a few times a year! We live in a neighborhood with lots of families, and in an area where there are a wide variety of activities for children. The schools in our area are diverse and offer many different opportunities. We are also close to the beach and love taking advantage of walking there often!

Our home has 4 bedrooms, a living room and dining room, and a kitchen that opens up into our family room. The home was renovated just before we moved in a few years ago, so we feel at ease in the knowledge that it is safe for our family. We have a backyard where we love to host barbecues and have friends around the fire pit. Our dog, Gus, also loves spending time in the yard, and we love taking him on walks around our neighborhood hiking trails!

Thank you again so much for taking the time to view our profile. More than anything we want you to know that your child will always be loved unconditionally as part of our family. We promise to support them and their passions, and devote our time and energy to raising them with all the joy we can provide. We look forward to the little things – reading bedtime stories from books we’ve saved from our childhood, carrying on some of our family traditions, and having dance parties as part of daily life. We plan to raise our future child with an understanding and appreciation for you and the sacrifice you are making for them. This child will be loved beyond words by us and our families, and will always know the great love you have for them as well.

Our Home and Community