Lindsey

Hello! I’m Lindsey!

Dear Expectant Mother,

Thank you for reading my profile as you choose the right family for your child. I’ve known adoption would be my path to motherhood since I was a teenager. I’ve had numerous friends and family who are birth mothers, adoptees, and adoptive parents. My life and heart are ready to nurture a child with unconditional love and patience. I’ll prioritize showing, both in word and action, that my future child is a one-of-a-kind person who is precious – on the sunny days and even more so on the hard days.

I’d love to learn about you and your hopes for your child – whatever you’re comfortable with sharing. Whether you’re feeling courage, fear, selflessness, uncertainty, or a mixture of so many emotions – I’ll be praying for you and sending you good vibes. You matter and you’ll always matter in your child’s life.

I appreciate your willingness to consider me as your child’s adoptive parent. You’re welcome to ask any questions you have about me, my family, and the kind of life I’d share with your child.  I hope the absolute best for you and your child no matter what you decide.

Sincerely,

Lindsey

Hello! I’m Lindsey!

A Little About Me

When I was 17 years old, a local TV station featured a story about my high school and asked me, what do you want to be when you grow up? I want to be a university professor and a mom, I said.

I believed my dreams would come true if I gained an education, worked hard, and respected others. Now I’m a professor at a university and teach international business and communication strategy courses. The best part of my job is helping young adults achieve their dreams.

I had a happy childhood in Wisconsin full of hide-and-seek games with neighborhood kids, bike rides with my dad to the local ice cream shop, and basketball games with my mom cheering as my #1 fan. My youth leaders sparked my curiosity to explore different cultures, and my teachers instilled my love of learning.

After college, I moved to Tennessee to work in the music industry. My passion for global engagement and teaching led me to earn a doctorate degree. I’ve traveled to 40 countries, worked on several humanitarian and research projects, and have friends around the world, especially in Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, and China.

I’m now established in my career, so travel isn’t required. I teach on Tuesdays and Thursdays and work from home on other weekdays. I get a month-long winter break and three months off in the summer. My work offers stability yet flexibility to support my future child’s needs.

Someday I hope to continue international adventures with my future child – maybe take a road trip around New Zealand or stay in a glass igloo in Finland to see the Northern Lights.

Now I’m embracing Southern California life. I’ve been learning to surf. The incredible feeling of riding a wave makes me forget about my fear of sharks.

My friends describe me as organized, persevering, anchored by faith in God, and open to new thoughts and ideas. I like to learn by talking with people and reading. I enjoy challenging experiences, whether learning to speak Vietnamese, running a marathon, or improving my photography skills. When I become a mom, I’ll strive to develop my future child’s curiosity by exposing them to various ideas and activities. I can’t wait to see the world through the eyes of a child.

A Little About Me

My Family & Friends

My friends and family are thrilled to become a part of my future child’s life!

Throughout my life, my parents have given me a wealth of time and love. My dad, Dennis, has modeled hard work. My mom, Jackie, has been a trusted confidant. I was the first in my family to go to college, and my parents encouraged me to pursue my dreams. Although they live in the Chicago area, we FaceTime, talk, or text daily. I also visit them for several weeks each year.

Larissa, my younger sister, and her husband Phil have three children. She is one of the kindest people I know. Ross, my younger brother, and his wife Bre have three children. He has the best sense of humor. My nieces and nephews range from newborn to 12 years old.

My dog Charley is a five-year-old Shorkie (a Shih-Tzu and Yorkie mix). He loves to play ball in the backyard and to snuggle with my nieces during sleepovers. He’s playful yet gentle and well-behaved. Plus, he’s already a pro at going on walks with a baby stroller with my newborn nephew.

I also have friends who are as close as family. We get together to eat new foods, discuss current events, hike nearby trails, visit museums and festivals, and watch basketball and football games. I recently began meeting weekly with a group of women who are mothers through adoption. I look forward to becoming more involved with playdates once I become a mom.

In the Words of My Nieces –

“I love to hang out and talk with Aunt Lindsey. She is fun and sophisticated. She’s a very good listener. She’s really fun to play games with and joke around with. Sleepovers are really fun with her.”

– Parker, my niece, age 12

“Aunt Lindsey is smart and cool. She’s good at teaching me things like skateboarding. It was funny when she fell on the hoverboard but then she practiced and I helped her and then she did it. We’re both good, but she’s good at skateboarding and I’m good at the hoverboard. We’re also good at dancing.”

– Lyvia, my niece, age 9

My Family & Friends

Making Memories

On Christmas morning, the whole family gathers at my parents’ house. We eat a big meal, and I lead silly games. But the gift exchange is the main event. Every year my mom says that she’s cutting back on gifts. But she never does – she can’t resist spoiling her grandchildren. I can’t wait for my future child to laugh with cousins on this loud and fun day.

The Fourth of July is a big celebration. We grill in my parents’ backyard, where my dad has created a children’s dreamland with swing sets and toys. There’s plenty of space for my future child to run, swing, climb, slide, and jump. I love to have races with the kids and join them in the kiddie pool or on the trampoline. The day concludes with s’mores around the fire pit and fireworks.

Thanksgiving is a “friendsgiving” holiday that I cherish every year. I spend a week with my friends and their children in Tennessee. We eat our favorite Thanksgiving foods like turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes, cornbread, and pumpkin pie, and we visit the Smoky Mountains. I can’t wait to show my future child one of my favorite parts of the country.

Fun Facts About Me –

Favorite Hobby: Photography

Favorite Movie: The Secret Life of Pets

Favorite Actor: Claire Danes

Favorite Food: Tacos, Chocolate, & Coffee

Favorite Animal: Dogs

Favorite TV Show: The Office & Community

Favorite Holiday: Christmas

Favorite Vacation Spot: Tennessee

Favorite Band/Singer: Johnny Cash

Making Memories

Home Sweet Home

I love my Southern California neighborhood because it’s safe and walkable with lots of greenery. On workdays, I walk to the coffee shop for a nonfat latte, then to my office at my university, and then to the building where I teach. My university offers childcare for professor’s children, so I’ll only be a 10-minute walk from my future child when I’m teaching.

My neighbors are other professors, their spouses, and their children, including children who were adopted. When I bring a baby home, they will grow in a welcoming community with individuals from diverse races, ethnicities, and cultures. We interact frequently and have dinner together every Tuesday.

I have a separate bedroom and bathroom in my home for my future child, plus plenty of outdoor space to ride scooters and bikes and play in the grass. The backyard has a vegetable garden, and a community pool is just a short walk away.

Many attractions, such as waterfalls in the mountains and sandcastles at the beach, are short drives from my neighborhood, and Disneyland is just 30 minutes away.

My Promises to You and Your Child –

  • I’ll cherish the beautiful life that you’ve entrusted to me, and I’ll make sure your child always knows how deeply they are loved by so many people, including you.
  • I’ll celebrate their accomplishments, from wobbling on little feet for those very first baby steps to walking across the stage as a confident young adult to accept a diploma.
  • I’ll teach them that mistakes are part of the learning process, and I’ll support and defend them through obstacles, both big and small.
  • I’ll wipe their tears and put Band-Aids on even the owies that might not really need one.
  • I’ll give them space to ask questions, and I’ll offer them educational opportunities that equip them with the knowledge, self-esteem, and resilience to make their dreams come true.
  • I’ll handle the unknowns and make decisions that place their interests and well-being before my own.
  • I’ll read bedtime stories, invite cousins to sleepovers, spend Saturday afternoons with sandy toes at the beach, dress up in our best for Sunday church, travel to new states and to new countries, and go on a million other adventures.
Home Sweet Home