Michael & Karrie

Karrie & Michael

Dear Birth Mother, Hello & Welcome! We are Karrie & Michael from Southern California.

We are incredibly honored that you have decided to read our profile and beyond grateful that you have chosen adoption for your baby. We know from personal experience how blessed adoption can be. We respect and admire your decision and we are committed to support you with care and compassion throughout this brave journey.

Our home is full of love and we are excited to share this love with a baby! We are ready to embrace the joys of becoming parents.
We are grateful that you have taken the time to review our profile and for making the brave and selfless decision of choosing adoption.

We want you to know that we believe in honesty and integrity. It will be our honor to share with your child about their adoption story and the cultures, traditions and values from which they came.

If we are fortunate enough to be chosen as parents for your child, we promise to provide your child with unconditional love and to nurture and support them their whole life. We thank you from the bottoms of our hearts for considering us as parents for your child.

Karrie & Michael

The Story of Us

We randomly met through mutual friends (and the awesomeness of fate) in the spring of 2008. We had both known and heard of each other over a long period of time, but we had never actually met in person.

We started our relationship off as friends, even though our closest friends thought right away we would be perfect for each other. We quickly realized this to be true as well. Our first date was at the Bodies Exhibit at a museum in Los Angeles – the true path to romance for a science teacher like Karrie.

The chemistry between us was amazing and we both love each other’s friends and families. Over the years, we have explored, vacationed and traveled with our doggy, Dirka, friends and family. Our love was made “official” and we were married in the summer of 2012.

Our marriage is founded on our mutual respect for one another and our true title as Best Friends. Our married life has consisted of preparing for parenthood, becoming homeowners and loving each other more and more every single day.

Being parents is the single most important piece that is missing from our lives. We have wanted to add to our family by becoming parents for years and are beyond excited that our dreams are now coming true!

Adoption Experience: Karrie’s mom was adopted and her aunt was also adopted 6 years later. On the other side of her family, her cousin was adopted. Growing up Karrie’s best friend’s little sister was adopted. And one of Karrie’s closest friends in high school also chose adoption for her child. One of Michael’s best friends and a close co-worker are adopted.

Adoption is a part of our lives and family and we have experienced firsthand what it’s like to be in a loving family with adopted relatives.

We live in Thousand Oaks, a suburb of Los Angeles, in Southern California. It is one of the safest cities in the nation with one of the best school districts that Karrie works at. The yard has lots of grass in the front and back of the house and Karrie has grown an amazing herb garden that we use when we make home cooked meals. The weather is on average 75 degrees year round; which means lots of opportunity to play at the local parks.

Thousand Oaks is quiet, beautiful and safe to live. We are friends with all of our amazing neighbors who have lots of kids to play with.

The Story of Us

Meet Karrie

I was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio with my parents and younger brother. I have always loved the sun and being outdoors…so in 2005, I moved across the country to Southern California. You can take the girl out of Ohio, but you can’t take Ohio out of the girl!

I am a diehard Cleveland (and Ohio State) sports fan. When the Cavs won the NBA finals (the first professional sports title for Cleveland in my lifetime), I flew home to join in the festivities and went to the parade!

Along with sports, I also love all animals – literally from sloths to snails! On the rare occasions that it rains in Southern California, you can find me outside scooping snails up off the sidewalks and streets and moving them to safer places.

I love going to concerts with Michael. There is nothing like being in the front row for your favorite band.

Karrie’s Family: Even though I am over 2,000 miles away, I am still incredibly close to my family. I consider my mom and sister-in-law (my brother’s wife) to be two of my best friends. My Mom and Dad come out to visit us at least once a year and I go back to Cleveland at least twice a year. I am fortunate to also have inherited an amazing family through Michael!

My Career: I have been a middle school science teacher since 2002. I recently finished my master’s in educational technology. Along with teaching science, I have also started teaching multiple engineering classes for my seventh and eighth graders.

In class, my students are able to create objects that they can actually 3d print. They also program apps for droid tablets and build and program robots. Along with teaching, I also coach a robotics club as an after school activity.

Meet Karrie

Meet Michael

I grew up in the town of Burbank in Southern California. When I am not at work helping nonprofits, I am spending my time enjoying every minute I can with Karrie and our little dog, Dirka.

I love working on home improvements with my Uncle David, who gives me expert advice on being a handyman around the house. I love all the awesome vacations we take, especially weekend trips to coastal Cambria to visit my mom.

My favorite thing to do on week nights after we take our dog on a walk is to snuggle on the couch with Karrie and Dirka. Eating healthy, exercising and reading is how I stay grounded and focused.

Michael’s Family: Most of my side of the family lives California, so there are lots of celebrations year-round with relatives. My mother, brother and his fiancée, and my Aunt and Uncle will be a huge help in providing support for our new family! They cannot wait to meet the newest family member.

Michael’s Career: My work is very fulfilling as I am a fundraising consultant for Non-Profit Organization’s. My job directly helps raise millions of dollars for great charities such as United Way, Catholic Charities, Humane Society and Habitat for Humanity. I have been at the same company for over 3 years and I have been honored and awarded as top consultant year over year since I have been there.

Meet Michael

Just For Fun

Our Favorites:
1. Long walks
2. Spending time with Michaels Goddaughter, Harper
3. Taking our dog to the park for fetch
4. Any and all family and friend activities and celebrations
5. Board games and card games
6. Traveling, exploring and vacationing
7. We enjoy cooking and eating
8. Quiet nights at home
9. Any chance to be in a pool or at the beach
10. Visiting Cambria, California

What Karrie Loves About Michael:
• His sense of humor
• Generosity
• Dedication to what he believes in
• Loyalty to those he loves
• How he supports and motivates my dreams

What Michael Loves About Karrie:
• Her love of family
• Her love of animals
• Her love of sports
• Her love of chilling at home
• She loves me

Meet Dirka
• Rat terrier
• 12 years old
• Quirky personality
• Loves to play & snuggle
• Looking forward to protecting our newest addition

Just For Fun