Nathalie & Jelle

Hello!

We are Nathalie and Jelle from the Netherlands. Thank you for taking the time to find out more about us. We can’t imagine how difficult this situation must be for you and we have lots of respect for your selfless choice. We are very much looking forward to getting to know you and to have you as a part of our family.

From early on in our relationship, we already knew that we wanted to have a family together. After we got married, we struggled with infertility and although this was a difficult time, we soon came to the conclusion that adoption would be a perfect fit for us. We wanted to raise a family and whether that would go the natural way or through adoption makes no difference to us. We can’t wait to share our love with a future child and give them everything they need. Adoption is not very common in the Netherlands, so we are very happy that it is possible for us to adopt from the USA.

About Us: We have known each other since primary school! Jelle has always been the best friend of Nathalie’s brother and regularly came to the house for playtime. At a New Year’s Eve party in 2008 we fell in love, and our relationship started two weeks later. After five beautiful years, in which we got to know each other well and experienced beautiful things, Jelle asked Nathalie to marry him during a city trip in Düsseldorf, Germany. Of course she said “yes” and we were married the next year, which was one of the most beautiful things we have experienced together with our dear friends and family. We have been married for more than 7 years and are so happy with each other. The desire for a child has grown even more and more.

Every week we plan a day that we can really spend time together. We go for a walk, have a drink in the city, visit places we haven’t been before or enjoy a meal in our garden. We find it important to spend a lot of time together as a couple. We hope to do the same with our future family. We are excited to visit different attractions for children such as parks, museums, and zoos, and secretly we will enjoy that too!

We love to travel, and have already visited many countries in Europe, been to Africa, Canada and lots of states in the USA too. We love the beautiful nature in America and are really looking forward to taking several road trips with our future child. We would like for your child to be proud of his or her roots and to visit the USA and let them enjoy the beautiful surroundings there and learn about where they came from.

Things We Enjoy:

  • Spotting wildlife in the early morning
  • Hiking with our dog Melchior
  • Country music
  • Running together
  • Camping in France or Italy
  • Visiting families and friends
Hello!

About Nathalie

Meet Nathalie, by Nathalie: I am a calm, down-to-earth, caring and positive person, who likes to be there for others and enjoy making others happy. I grew up in a village on the outskirts of the multicultural city of Rotterdam together with my older brother, two sisters and my parents. I had a loving childhood, my parents were always there for us, and I am still very grateful for this.

I work as a caretaker for disabled people. Here, I have the opportunity to provide care and love to those with a psychological or mental disability. I enjoy it because I get to help them have happy and fulfilling days. I work irregular times and I will be home for the first 3 months. After those 3 months, I will only need to work when Jelle is at home.

I look forward to spending a lot of time with our future child playing together, going to the zoo or the pool. I can’t wait to become a mother!

Nathalie’s Hobbies & Favorites:

  • Spending time with my nieces and nephews
  • Decorating the house
  • Running
  • Reading
  • Walking with our dog Melchior
  • Exploring new places
  • Spending time with my family and friends

Meet Nathalie by Jelle: Nathalie is the most important thing in my life, I love her very much. She has a caring and sweet character, always works hard and is diligent. We love spending time together and enjoy each other’s company. For example we love to go on hikes in nature with our lovely dog Melchior. Nathalie enjoys changing the interior design and always makes sure our house is cozy and warm. Nathalie will be an amazing mother because she is very caring and sweet, and I am 100% sure she will give your child all the love they need.

About Nathalie

About Jelle

Meet Jelle by Jelle: I was born and raised in Krimpen aan den IJssel, a quiet city in the Netherlands with a population of about 30,000 people, close to the big city of Rotterdam.  I grew up with my 1 year old brother, 2 younger brothers and a sister.  I had a nice and carefree childhood, in which playing and sports were central. My parents took good care of us and we are all still very close. We all still live close together, most of us live in the same village.

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and work as a Branch Manager at a large hydraulics company. I work there 4 days a week and fortunately I can be at home with my family a lot. I believe education is very important, so a proper education for our future child is a high priority for me.

Jelle’s Hobbies & Favorites:

  • Traveling
  • Playing and watching soccer
  • Reading
  • Gardening
  • Cooking
  • Hiking
  • History
  • Technology

Meet Jelle by Nathalie: Jelle is the most beautiful thing that ever happened to me, he’s caring and sweet and knows something about everything.  Jelle is a real go-getter and I admire that in him. He is athletic and loves to cook.  Jelle will be a great father, because he will always be there and can give unconditional love. Children always love Jelle, he makes them laugh and has a lot of patience. He is always in for a game or a laugh. I am so excited to see Jelle become a father!

About Jelle

Our Home

We live in Krimpen aan den Ijssel, a small village on the outskirts of the city of Rotterdam, a large multicultural city with 174 different nationalities. We live in a beautiful child friendly and quiet neighborhood with lots of nature and space for children to play. In our village we have a large swimming lake, a petting zoo, swimming pool and large playgrounds where children can have fun. There are many activities to offer and children can play many different sports here. There are also several good schools within cycling distance.

Dutch Traditions We Love:

  • King’s Day – Every year the Netherlands has a national holiday called King’s Day where we celebrate the king’s birthday. Everyone wears orange clothing and there are many different activities and festivals for both children and adults. It is always a very pleasant day.
  • Annual Picnic – There is also a picnic every year for all children adopted from the USA organized by our Dutch adoption agency. We think it will be great to attend these picnics with our future child, so that they can meet other children with the same roots.
  • Christmas – We also celebrate Christmas each year with our families. Luckily we have 2 days of Christmas in the Netherlands giving us the opportunity to celebrate with each side of the family.

Meet Melchior: When we were married we got our dog Melchior. He is now seven years old. He’s a sweet and funny dog. He loves cuddling, long walks and of course eating! We know for sure that he will become best friends with your child.

5 Ways We Show Our Love:

  • Every day we say “I love you”
  • Trying to surprise each other
  • Lots of hugs and kisses
  • To spend time together when possible
  • Giving each other compliments
Our Home

Meet our Family

We both come from large & close families. Jelle has one older brother Thomas and two younger brothers, Ruben and Stefan. He also has a younger sister Rebekka. His brothers are all married  now and have children. Nathalie has one older brother Pieter and two younger sisters, Wendela and Rozemarijn.  We are proud uncle and aunt of two little nephews and four nieces, and the fifth niece is on her way! Both our families live near us, we can visit them by bike or just walking. On Sundays after church we often spend time with Nathalie’s family and we have dinner once a week with Jelle’s parents, where his brothers and sister are also often to be found. Every year we go away for a weekend with Nathalie’s family. We rent a house on a holiday park and do various activities. We also often visit our parents for a few days, when they are on summer vacation abroad in France.

5 Things We Will Teach Our Child:

  • Always be kind
  • You are beautiful
  • To be confident
  • Respect elderly
  • Be honest

Thank You: We have great respect for your difficult choice. We are grateful that you wanted to take the time to get to know us better. We want you to know that we will always tell your child about you with great respect and that you will forever be a part of their life and our family. We promise you that we will love your child unconditionally and guide your child in making choices and give them the freedom to be who they are. We will always provide them with stability, warmth, and security so that they can grow up to be an independent adult. We will also tell them how loved they are, by so many people and God. God bless you!

  • Nathalie & Jelle
Meet our Family