Sarah and Eli

Dear Birth Mother

Hello! We are Sarah and Eli from Colorado! We deeply admire and respect the decision you are making in choosing adoption. While we can’t imagine how challenging this choice must be, we know you are an incredibly brave, strong, and loving woman to be taking this path. We can only hope to be part of your journey from this point on.

Starting a family means the world to us. We dream of nothing more than building a family full of unconditional love, never ending laughter, and the chance to give a child every opportunity they deserve. We both believe deeply in creating a home where our child has the freedom and support to grow into exactly who they are and who they dream of being. No matter what our child is passionate about, we will be there for them every step of the way. We hope our profile helps you learn about who we are and why we may be the right family for your child.

A Little About Us: We met 10 years ago at a friend’s birthday party and found ourselves talking long into the night. Right away we connected over our shared love of creativity, travel, and learning. The next few years were a whirlwind of laughter, adventures, and a growing community of friends and family. We both knew we had found our soulmate, and on a New Year’s trip to Palm Springs, California Eli proposed on a sunset hike in Joshua Tree. We’ve been grateful for every moment since.

We had an amazing summer wedding at a lake in Northern California. Our friends and family joined us for a full weekend of celebration. There was swimming, dancing, and roasting marshmallows under the stars. Since then we’ve created a tradition of gathering the same group back at the lake for our big anniversary event! We cherish this time to gather our nearest and dearest for a weekend of summer fun.

We are choosing adoption after losing a child late in a pregnancy and learning that Sarah has a medical condition that would make carrying a child very dangerous for her. With so many perfect children out in the world, we knew immediately that adoption would be our path.

Things We Love to do Together:

  • Farmers Market on Sunday
  • Hosting backyard bbqs
  • Acting goofy and making small things fun
  • Early walks or hikes to start the weekend
  • Planning art nights, outdoor movies, and new activities for family and friends
  • Cooking new foods
  • Snuggling up for our favorite movies and shows – Some of our favorites are The Wire, Silicon Valley, and Game of Thrones

Top 10 Things We Love:

  • Traveling to places near and far!
  • Cuddling with our hound dog Eleanor
  • Banana Pancakes on a Sunday Morning
  • Lots of outdoor adventures!
  • Taking classes and learning new skills
  • Celebrating family traditions all year long
  • Going out for comedy and music
  • Working on our dream house
  • Being active in our community
  • Cooking big dinners with our friends and family
Dear Birth Mother

About Sarah

About Sarah, By Sarah: I grew up in a tight knit family in Los Angeles, California. I was a dorky kid that loved school and theater and always knew I wanted a big job that was going to challenge me. After going to UC Berkeley for college, I had the amazing opportunity to live in Europe and work at a film festival there. Besides falling in love with traveling the world, this is also where I learned how to work in media, which I have been doing ever since. Today I work as the VP of the Global Digital business at The North Face, and couldn’t love my work more.

Outside of work, my friends mean the world to me. I am still close with many of my best friends from Elementary school and Junior High and do everything I can to make sure we stay in touch. I am a big letter writer and never miss a birthday. Outside of friends and work I love to garden, cook, stay fit, and participate in the community around me. I love going to new restaurants, seeing comedy, going to museums, and traveling any chance that I get.

Luckily, because most of my work is remote, I can be present for all the daily fun. Plus Eli and I both have generous time off policies so we are going to be able to be home for most of the first year together.

When we have a child, I am most excited for all the little things. I can’t wait to read them bedtime stories, make their favorite meals, and have dance parties as a part of daily life. I am also excited to get into whatever our child loves. Whether it’s piano lessons or football, I’m going to most love helping them pursue their passions and experiencing the joy they find in them.

More About Sarah by Eli: Sarah makes everything in our life feel like magic. Whether it’s packing lunches and snacks for a road trip, planning a Sunday morning breakfast, or making the most out of a weekend adventure Sarah makes the little things in life feel truly special. Our home has always been a gathering place for friends, family, and community because everyone we know wants to spend as much time in Sarah’s world as humanly possible. From the moment I met Sarah there was no question that she would be the absolute best thing that ever happened to me and I know deep in my bones that she is going to be the most loving, caring, and supportive Mom there is. Our future child will always be on time for school, with a lunch pack others dream about, supported in all of their interests and passions, and empowered to make both their big and small dreams come true.

Sarah’s Favorites:

Food: Fajitas!

Musical Artist: Missy Elliot

TV Show: The Wire

Way to Spend a Sunday Morning: Cuddled Up with Eli, a good book, and a big old cup of coffee

About Sarah

About Eli

About Eli, By Eli: I grew up in a rural town surrounded by redwoods in Northern California in a small but loving family where I developed a deep love for the outdoors. While San Francisco sat in the distance I always knew that I would pursue a career in the arts due to my fascination with creative culture and music. I moved to San Francisco for college, made the most amazing friends, and turned my creative pursuits into a full-fledged career as a Design Director at a top agency in the San Francisco Bay Area. In addition to my career I’m an avid cyclist, hiker, playlist maker, and I love a great Sunday night movie almost as much as our regular Tuesday Taco Night. 🙂

I’m excited to do all of the rad dad things I can think of. Whether it’s learning to ride a bike, early morning drop offs for ballet, or helping with homework and after school sports, I couldn’t be more excited about all the possible scenarios that I might get to be a part of with my future kiddo. No matter what they are into I will support their passion and interests unconditionally.

Luckily I work from home and have a flexible schedule so it will be easy for me to be present for all the big and little things in our child’s life. My company also allows time off for fathers so

between Sarah and I we will be home with our child for most of our first year together.

More About Eli by Sarah: Eli is a man with a heart of gold.  As driven as Eli is with his career, he always makes sure that our time as a family comes first and foremost. He is the best cuddler, isn’t afraid to be sweet and sensitive, and never misses a moment to sing or dance in our everyday life. He makes sure that no matter how busy we are, we always make time for fun and togetherness. Eli has also always made time for community, he mentors young men on a weekly basis and is the first one ready to lend a hand to those in need. From the moment I met Eli, I knew he was going to be the best and most loving dad. There is no question that he is going to go the extra mile to make sure your child feels loved every day of their lives. He truly is my best friend, my partner in crime, and the man I can’t wait to become a parent with.

Eli’s Favorites:

Food: Nothing beats pizza!

Musical Artist: I love Hip Hop, Soul, Classic Rock, and Indie. For my top 4 from each category let’s go Kendrick Lamar, Neil Young, Sam Cooke, and Vampire Weekend.

TV Show: Game of Thrones

Way to Spend a Sunday Morning: I’m either taking it slow with coffee and a book or headed to the mountains for a bike ride, hike, or snowboarding trip. I love balancing an active day with a long mellow afternoon of good food and company.

About Eli

Our Home and Community:

We moved to Denver, Colorado from San Francisco, California a year ago for Sarah’s work. But also because we were ready to find a place to buy our dream home. We lucked out and found a beautiful house on a tree lined street in an amazing neighborhood in the city. We love where we live because we are surrounded by amazing parks and schools, but can also walk to great coffee shops and restaurants.

We are thrilled that our child will have access to a big backyard and lots of playgrounds but will also have the benefit of having friends and city life nearby.

Meet Eleanor: Our hound dog Eleanor is the cuddliest most wonderful animal. She is an 11-year-old Basset Hound / Labrador mix and she’s equally sweet as she is a goofball. She’s amazing with kids, loves meeting new people, and can sniff out a snack better than most. She is a key member of our family and goes everywhere with us from weekend hikes to vacations in the mountains. Eleanor will make a great fur companion to your child!

Our Home and Community:

Meet Our Family and Friends

Since we grew up in California, a big part of our life is visiting family there. Sarah’s mom, brother and sister in-law all live in LA. We visit at least 3 times a year and when there, spend our time at the beach or around Margit’s (Sarah’s mom’s) pool. Gideon (Sarah’s brother) just got married last year so we are excited for our future child to have cousins since they are hoping to start a family too. Every trip we also love heading up to Northern California to visit Eli’s mom Nan in the redwoods.

Friends are also a huge part of our life! We both have big networks of loved ones and they are absolutely part of our chosen family. We often travel with friends and always make sure to come together for big moments like holidays and birthdays.

Our Holidays and Traditions: We are big believers in family traditions and celebrating holidays of all kinds. Every birthday in our house starts with a decorated birthday table so you wake up to gifts and fun from the moment you open your eyes. For New Years, we have a tradition of traveling to somewhere new so that every year starts with a fresh perspective on the year ahead. We’ve spent New Year’s in Amsterdam, Mexico, Paris, the San Juan Islands and more. Thanksgiving is the time that we always make a point to be with family in California, while at Christmas we love being home with a big tree and a month filled with holiday spirit.

In Closing: Thank you for taking the time to get to know us! Nothing means more to us than sharing the unconditional love we have with our future child. We can’t wait to create a home filled with laughter, learning, love and never-ending support. Thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

  • Sarah & Eli
Meet Our Family and Friends