Carrie and Jake

Dear Birth Mother

Hello! We are Carrie & Jake. We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to consider us for such a significant gift. Life is a gift, and children are a gift in whatever way they exist in one’s life. We have discussed adoption since the first week of our relationship. This is the choice that has always felt right and we feel that life has brought us to this choice for a reason. We have dreamt of a day that we could be parents. For us, becoming parents will be one of the best adventures of our lives and there is no other journey as important.

We Will Teach Your Child:

  • To enjoy life
  • The value of community
  • To be excited and interested in all cultures
  • To explore
  • To seek peace

About Us: We met while living on the big island of Hawaii. Our first date lasted fifteen hours. We met for coffee and talked until they shut down the patio. We decided that we weren’t done with our conversation, so went to the 24hr diner. We ate and continued talking until 6am. Later that day we went on the first of what would become many road trips. We explored every inch of the island, eating all of the foods, snorkeling every weekend with the sea turtles, and experiencing the sense of Aloha that is everywhere. When we left the Island, we considered moving to Ireland and spent 40 days traveling the country.

After our trip we decided to stay in the US, but with the door left open a future opportunity. We continued looking for where we could find a sense of home and belonging, landing in the Pacific Northwest, where we continue to hike, eat delicious foods, search for wildlife, and enjoy local culture.

A Few of Our Favorites:

Animal

  • Carrie: Elephant
  • Jake: Monkey

Kid’s Movie

  • Carrie: Postman Pat
  • Jake: Wall-E

Place to Take a Child

  • Carrie: The beach
  • Jake: The zoo

Hobby

  • Carrie: Travel
  • Jake: Photography

Season

  • Both: Summer!

Languages we Speak

  • Carrie: American Sign Language
  • Jake: Hebrew

Vacation

  • Carrie: Bali
  • Jake: Ireland

Zodiac Sign

  • Carrie: Libra
  • Jake: Aquarius

Children’s Book

  • Carrie: Winnie the Pooh
  • Jake: Where the Sidewalk Ends
Dear Birth Mother

About Carrie

About Carrie – Written by Carrie: I grew up as the youngest of three daughters in rural Indiana. I went to a small county school, where my graduating class was 27 people. We lived on a hobby farm, where we took in animals of all sorts, explored in the field, and snuck vegetables from the garden. It was a happy and safe place to grow up.

I initially went to college at Ball State University but was far more interested in travel, so I became a flight attendant. When my airline closed, I went back to school and became a nurse. I earned my Bachelor of Science in Nursing and have been, for most of my career, a labor/delivery nurse, caring for women and babies around the country. I now work in a small hospital that allows me to work various shifts, and on various units. I am also currently near the end of a Master’s degree in Bioethics.

When I am not at work I try to be at the beach or on a hike. We are fortunate to live in an area with many trails and mild weather to hike in. When we have free time, we travel. Whether on big trips or day trips, we like to go and see something new. These are the things I look forward to doing with our child. I look forward to traveling and exploring all there is to see in the world.

More About Carrie by Jake: Carrie is amazing! She’s a kind, caring, loving woman who has a helping heart. She has an adventurous spirit and loves to travel near and far. Not a weekend goes by when she doesn’t have a suggestion about a hike we should do, a new restaurant to try, or a beach to explore. She has an artistic eye and loves to try different craft projects from refurbishing a dresser to crocheting a new hat, she’s always keeping herself busy. She values education and learning, and for birthdays, in addition to gifts, she always thinks of an experience that would enhance the person’s life. Her love for her family is unmatched, her honesty is heartfelt, and her spirit for living our best lives is what will make her an outstanding mother.

 

About Carrie

About Jake

About Jake – Written by Jake: Originally from rural Wisconsin, I moved to the suburbs of Milwaukee when I was seven. I spent time with my Nana baking and helping to coordinate a monthly dinner for people in a low-income neighborhood in the city. I served as a leader in a Jewish youth organization that allowed me to travel to Israel to explore and learn about my heritage and culture.

I earned a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology and a Master’s in Higher Education. I worked for different universities for about 16 years helping college students figure out who they were and what they wanted to do in life, while giving them the skills to be successful after they graduate. Now I work in Healthcare and support a large department of amazing staff who are all working hard to provide quality care for patients.

One of my favorite hobbies is photography. Carrie and I have spent many trips going on photo adventures looking to capture the natural surroundings that we find ourselves in. We can’t wait to show our child the world and the opportunities within it. We’re looking forward to teaching them about different cultures and communities- opening their eyes to the beauty that surrounds them.

More About Jake by Carrie: Jake is the best soul. He is all the things one thinks could not exist in only one person. He is optimistic, funny, brilliant, genuine, and kind. More than that, he is up for every adventure I throw his way. His enthusiasm for living, and his interest in trying new things is infectious. Fortunately, within all of that he maintains an unshakable strength. I am so excited to be able to watch him grow as a father. If there is anyone in the world deserving of being a father, it is Jake. I am beyond fortunate that he is my partner in all of life. I am fortunate that he loves me, and that any child of his will know only love.

About Jake

Our Family

Jake’s parents, Steve and Sharon, live in Mequon, Wisconsin. Jake’s dad writes crossword puzzles for fun and Sunday mornings are often spent doing the NY Times puzzle together. His mom is often doing artistic projects such as painting, beading jewelry, and tending to her garden. Jake’s sister, Leah, lives in New Jersey with her 3-year-old son, Tiziano. Everyone is so excited about our plans to adopt, but Tiziano is especially excited for a new cousin to play games with!

Carrie’s family all live in Indiana so we are always talking on the phone, texting, or video chatting with them. Her parents, Harold and Nancy, are beyond excited to welcome another grandchild into the family. Carrie also has two sisters.  Laura and her husband Mike, have two children, Emma, age 21, and Liam, age 18. Jenny and Graham have two boys Zach, age 21, and Carter, age 20.  Our future child will have an incredible group of cousins who are looking forward to cuddles and spoiling a baby cousin during our visits to Indiana!

Our Friends: We are fortunate to call many people “friends,” but the closest among those are Von and Jeremy, Jake’s friends from his younger days, and a group we refer to as the Birds. The Birds are a group of amazing women that became like family when we lived in Bend, OR. The group is made up of Jane, Dana, Becky, and Stacey. We talk constantly, and when they were told we were adopting, they all exclaimed “we’re going to be aunties!!!”

Holiday Traditions:

  • Hanukkah
  • Rosh Hashana
  • Passover
  • Thanksgiving with the entire family

 

Our Family

Our Home

We were fortunate to choose where we called home and chose the Olympic Peninsula in Washington state. We live in a lovely rural home with amazing neighbors, approximately 10 minutes away from town, and less than a mile from the beach. We have a wonderful yard with beautiful trees and a small garden that sits on an acre of land. There are kids two doors down, often found outside riding bikes. Our town is a small friendly, welcoming community that takes pride in safety and cleanliness. There are beautiful parks, with many educational programs, and the schools in this area are wholistic in nature promoting family involvement.

Our Dog Fitzpatrick, aka Fitzy, is our soft coated Wheaten Terrier. He is a loving soul and the best of dogs. He is a lover of all people. His favorite food is cheese and his goal in life is to be pet and get more cheese. His favorite activity is to be at the beach where he often gets the ‘zoomies.’ Around children he is meek and looks to us to see what to do, and when around babies, he sniffs their feet. His tail wags for all humans.

One Last Thank You: Thank you once again for learning about us. We’re very excited to become parents and to share our journey and our love of life with a child. Such a special gift requires much consideration, and we appreciate your strength in making the decision you feel is best.

 

 

 

 

 

Our Home