Christine

Dear Birth Mother

Hi there! My name is Christine from Atlanta, Georgia. I am in awe of the strength and deep love that has brought you to this adoption journey! My hope is that you will feel an amazing peace when you find the right adoptive family for your child.

I am personally very excited and honored to be considered as a prospective adoptive parent. I have been considering adoption for many years, simply because I am a natural nurturer, love children and know that I would be able to provide a safe, loving environment in which they can develop. My dream has always been to become a mom and I am looking forward to the day when my dream comes true. Thank you so much for taking the time to learn more about me!

Top 5 Things I Will Teach My Future Child:

  • To show compassion towards all people
  • To love learning
  • How to know and follow their dreams
  • The beauty of their adoption story and birth family
  • The immeasurable depths of their intrinsic value
Dear Birth Mother

About Me

My Hobbies and Interests: I look forward to sharing my love of art, music, nature, traveling, and reading with my child.

Nature: I absolutely love being in nature. My family and friends know that I am always willing to go for a hike or for a vacation in a national park. I also try to bring nature indoors via sunlight, artwork, and houseplants.

Reading: Reading has always been a passion for me. I recently reread the Alchemist which is one of my favorite books. I also enjoy Rupi Kaur’s poetry. My love for reading naturally overflows into friends’ lives. Every year I collect children’s books to give to their kids for Christmas and birthdays. I’ve also been reading with my medical assistant’s niece for the past year in order to help improve her reading skills.

Travel: I try to travel either domestically or internationally every year. Japan is probably the most interesting place I’ve been to so far.

Music & Art: Music and art are important parts of my life as well. Drawing and playing piano have always been therapeutic pastimes for me.

My Faith: My Christian faith is a vital part of my life. I love the rich community and friendships that I am developing in my church. I’ve been a volunteer at my church nursery for about 5 years, and I’ve really enjoyed seeing the kids grow.

5 Things That Make Me Happy:

  • Being in nature
  • My dog’s cold nose in my face
  • My first cup of coffee in the morning
  • When a stranger does something kind
  • Patterns and colors
About Me

Welcome to My Home and Community:

I live in Metro Atlanta. It is a vibrant, culturally diverse area. There are always so many things to do, including festivals, museums, parks, concerts, the aquarium, etc. My favorite Atlanta festival is the lantern festival. 1000s of people make their own paper lanterns, and then parade through Atlanta. My friend, Rekha, and I made our own paper lanterns and joined the procession one year.

3 Things I Love About Atlanta:

  • Piedmont Park: It’s a huge green space in Atlanta with plenty of walking space, a massive dog park, and space for picnics and lounging. They also have a fun farmer’s market during the warmer months.
  • Momonoki: A Japanese restaurant that is walking distance from my place. I love their matcha ice cream.
  • The Atlanta Symphony: I’m always the youngest person there, but I still love it. They have classical music and some pop renditions.

 

Welcome to My Home and Community:

My Career

Being a Primary Care Doctor suits me so well. I love the relationships that I have formed with my patients and the staff at my clinic. It’s a joy to be able to coach people into a healthier life, and I am honored to support my patients through many difficult phases of their lives.

5 Things You Might be Surprised to Know About Me:

  • My parents are Jamaican
  • I was home-schooled all the way through elementary and middle school
  • As a child, my dream was to become a children’s book illustrator
  • I can make a brussel sprout dish that nobody hates
  • I’m an INFP, which is one of the rarest Meyers-Briggs personality types
My Career

Meet My Family and Friends

My family is such a big part of my life. I moved to Atlanta 10 years ago, and within a couple of years, my parents and two brothers had followed. Both my parents are Jamaican. My mom is extremely loving and is passionate about her job as a nanny. I think I got my love of children from her. My dad is a quiet, hard working person. My older brother is goofy and kind; and my baby brother still acts like the baby but is developing into a witty, capable adult. I took care of him a lot when he was little, so I feel like his second mom.

My friends are an integral part of my life. I know that I can depend on them in crisis, and I can also count on them to be the loudest cheerleaders for my success. They have been and will be a part of my community for many years to come.

My Traditions:

  • Gatherings for all birthdays and major holidays
  • Collecting children’s books to give to my friends’ kids for birthdays and Christmas. My friend, Asmitha, calls them the “Auntie Christine specials”
  • Visiting a new national park yearly
  • Baking/pasta making parties with friends
  • A tenderloin every Christmas that we struggle to make (everyone always a different idea about how it should be cooked)

Words from Loved Ones:

“The first time I met Christine was back in 2008 during our medical school orientation at Vanderbilt University and from our initial meeting, I knew she was an incredibly special person. I just remember her having such a warm presence and her compassion and kind-heartedness made you feel heard and secure.

I have firsthand witnessed Christine (aka Aunty Christine) take care of my son, Anbu, on many instances. Any time she comes to my home, she instantly gravitates towards Anbu and takes over as his caregiver.  Whether it was changing his diapers to feeding him bottles in the beginning to now playing with him on all fours and reading him books, motherhood just naturally comes to Christine.  She has such affection and patience for Anbu, it just warms my heart when I see her around him.“ – My close friend, Asmitha

“Christine is one of the most loving, kind, compassionate, and caring people I have ever known. She’s the kind of person you know you can call with any problem or issue and she will listen and be there right with you. She will always have a compassionate and measured response to everyone involved in the situation.” – My friend, Rekha

5 Things My Friends Describe Me As:

  • Perceptive
  • Compassionate
  • Gentle
  • Faithful
  • A good listener

My Thoughts on Parenting: I want my child to develop into the best version of themselves possible. Each child has a unique path, and I want to support them as they find that path.

My goal is that they will be secure, confident, compassionate, and capable as they grow into adulthood.

If possible, I also want them to know their birth family. Their birth family is a part of their rich heritage, and their life will be so much more complete if they have an opportunity to learn about and understand this aspect of their heritage.

In Closing: Thank you so much for taking the time to learn about me! I know that you have some hard decisions to make, but I also know that you will have the strength and wisdom to choose a wonderful home for your child.

I look forward to raising a child in a home that is rich in love, security, prayers, fun, and, community. I will be sure to teach my child about their birth heritage, and my hope is that they will always have an understanding of their deep intrinsic worth. I want them to have a solid sense of identity which launches them into a successful life.

 

Meet My Family and Friends