Julie

Hello! I am Julie from Los Angeles, CA!

Dear Birth Mother: Though I can’t begin to fully understand what you are going through right now, I am truly inspired by the love and courage it must take for you to make this incredibly difficult choice.

I promise you that I will love your child completely and unconditionally, and will use all of my joy, patience, understanding, silliness, maturity and strength to raise them. I hope to help them learn to feel confident, happy and strong, to form really meaningful, lasting, happy connections with people, to be comfortable with themselves and to take risks and not be afraid to fail.

When I think about becoming a mom through adoption I am really excited, because I’ve wanted to be a mother for so long. I had a prior marriage that didn’t work out, and struggled with pregnancy. Because I’ve always wanted to be a mother, I knew that adoption was my path to having a family.

I cannot wait to meet you! I hope to get to know you so that I can share your hopes and dreams with your child. I will do everything in my power to help your child blossom into their best self, whoever that may be!

A Little About Me: I’m originally from Los Angeles, California, but I traveled around the country growing up. I lived in Miami, Florida, went to college at Harvard University in Massachusetts (my dad went there so it was easier for me to get in), law school in Berkeley, and eventually moved back to Los Angeles to make my home.

I love living here because I’m a really active person, and I can go to the beach to play volleyball one day and to the mountains to snowboard the next. Also I’ve surrounded myself here with a village of good friends who cannot wait to help me raise my child.

I have a law degree, and I volunteer as a lawyer to help victims of domestic violence from time to time, but dogs are my major love. I feel a deep connection to furry friends and especially love helping shy dogs come out of their shells. I started a fun doggie daycare where dogs can play and get baths and do training. I do still love playing with the dogs, but I’ve hired wonderful employees and managers so that I can check in from home and fulfill my dream of being a stay-at-home mom.

Hello! I am Julie from Los Angeles, CA!

My Hobbies

My Hobbies and Interests: I can’t wait to explore your child’s interests and hobbies.
• I make hats, specializing in fedoras and sunhats with lots of feathers
• I love to stay active any way that I can but especially enjoy playing tennis
• During the winter, you’ll find me at Mammoth or Big Bear on a snowboard
• I love to hike local mountains with my pup Studly
• I love watching dogs who are nervous and shy come out of their shells and start to run and play.
• I’m taking child psychology classes at Antioch to help me get ready for motherhood
• I went to law school and volunteer now and then helping victims of domestic violence with their legal issues.
• I love to travel! I’ve been to Brazil (for surf camp), Thailand (for a meditation retreat), Israel (to live on a kibbutz), Italy, France, Holland and Spain. I love immersing myself in different cultures and learning new ways of doing things.
• During the summer the ocean is one of my favorite places. I love walking on the beach and playing beach volleyball.
• I was the lead jammer on my roller derby team for five fun-filled years. I still love to go to games and watch my friends play.
• I love games: my garage is filled with a pool table, a ping pong table, air hockey and tons of board games
• I love music: I play the drums and a little guitar, and I dance swing and salsa.

Things I Enjoy:

• Hiking with my dog
• Salsa dancing
• Laughing with friends
• Playing the drums
• Reading all kinds of books
• Finding a dog a home
• Snowboarding
• Giving dogs kisses
• Beach Volleyball
• Doing Anything near the Ocean
• Rice Krispie Treats
• Trying anything new (twice)

My Hobbies

My Village

My Friends Are Family: I have created a tight knit, supportive group of friends in Los Angeles who are my family. Around the holidays I always host a big game and gift night, where we all get together and exchange gifts and play games.

My closest friends and I also enjoy making dinner together, going on trips and just being together. My close friend Joanna and I love taking her nieces to playgrounds. My best friend Paula has a four-year-old son Lucas and we love reading with him and playing with anything that looks like a train with him.

Every one of my friends is so excited about becoming an aunt or uncle! I also have extended family: the three cousins I grew up with each have their own children now, and I take trips to Florida and North Carolina to visit them. We all get together every summer in Florida and I look forward to my future child having fun with their cousins in the summer the same way that I did with mine growing up.

My Friend Paula Says: “I’ve known Julie for over 10 years and she is the best friend I’ve ever had. She is so caring and her positive energy is contagious. She bonds easily with children and animals and she has a special connection with my son Lucas who is autistic. Watching her with him I know that she will make an amazing mother, and I’m really excited to be an aunt!”

My Village

My Home and Community

I live in a big, comfy four bedroom house in Eagle Rock, California with a backyard. My neighbors are very friendly: we have a neighborhood Thanksgiving every year, and I love to catch up with them while walking my dog Studly.

I moved into the neighborhood because of the great schools in the area, but it also has a little bit of everything. It has the safety and greenery of a suburb but is close to karate studios and coffee shops and playhouses and other fun businesses.

I’m about 15 minutes away from great hiking, 40 minutes away from the beach, and there are two playgrounds in walking distance that are always full of giggling children. It takes about an hour and a half to get to mountains to snowboard and less than an hour to get to Disneyland.

I’ve filled my garage and backyard with a hammock, a grill, musical instruments, toys and games and love to chill there with friends.

Puppy Love: My dog, Studly: I have always had furry love in my home. Studly is a year and a half old terrier mix who I rescued when he was 8 weeks old. He is precocious and self-confident and he loves squeaky toys, running in circles and hiking. He’s gentle, happiest snuggling in laps, and loves giving kisses. He adores children of all shapes and sizes, and can’t wait for his new sister or brother!

My Home and Community

Closing Thoughts

My Hopes as a Parent: Some of my favorite memories growing up were reading books with my mom and visiting my cousins for fun during the summers. I cannot wait to spend time snuggling and reading and visiting family with my future child.

I want to show my child all the world has to offer. If they’d like to learn to snowboard or play the drums I would love to teach them, but I will make sure they can choose any activity that interests them. We will sing and play and go on traveling adventures.

If they decide to go to college, it will be easier for them than most to get into Harvard (they will be a double legacy, since both I and my father went there). Most of all I want them to feel safe and loved and supported no matter what they decide is right for them.

Thank you so much for taking the time to get to know me. Please know that I support any decision you make, and that if I am fortunate enough to adopt your baby, they will be showered with love. I will play with them, support them, read to them, laugh with them, dance with them, learn from them, travel the world with them, snuggle with them and share stories about you with them. They will know how much love went into their adoption.

Closing Thoughts