Kim

Hi!

I am Kim from Los Angeles, California. I can only imagine how you are feeling during this time, but I want you to know I am thinking of you and am so impressed with your strength as you consider what is best for you and your child.

I grew up in a very large family surrounded by siblings, animals, and loving parents. Family has been so important to me my whole life and I’ve always wanted one of my own. I’ve been drawn towards adoption since a young age and always told my sister I’d adopt one day. Adoption to me means love and family and I cannot wait to raise your child the way I was raised, full of love and laughter and surrounded by family.

I have also always loved the idea of an open adoption. I will make sure my future child knows who their biological mother is and the strength, courage, and love you showed in this decision.

I will ensure adoption is part of my future child’s vocabulary and that they think of it only in the most positive ways.

Hi!

About Me

After college, I moved to Nashville where I went to cosmetology school and worked as a hairdresser for 5 years in Nashville. I loved it but in my mid 20’s, I moved in with my ultra-cool grandmother in New York City, and then moved to San Diego to be with my parents and a few of my siblings, who had decided to trade Tennessee for the year round warm weather in southern California.

I moved to Los Angeles in 2011 to be closer to my sister and my nieces where they had relocated. After living in Los Angeles for almost 2 years, I was hired as an Executive Assistant at a large streaming service. It is such a diverse, progressive place to work and working in entertainment, there is never a dull moment. I also have a ton of great co-workers and a very supportive boss who adopted a child himself and is rooting for me on this journey. The company also offers a generous maternity leave and very flexible working hours. I can’t wait to spend this time with my future child.

I volunteer at a rescue group in LA that saves adoptable dogs from overcrowded shelters. I am also always the lady putting out water and food for all the neighborhood strays! I can’t wait to take my future child to the Farm Sanctuary, which is an hour or so away from here, to meet the rescued animals. My nieces love it.

My Other Interests:

  • Cooking
  • Nutrition
  • Running
  • Working out

I am always watching videos on new recipes and then trying to recreate them myself. I also love going to farmer’s markets and cooking with fresh, colorful ingredients. I’ve never eaten meat, so I cook a ton of vegetables, lentils, beans, you name it. I love all kinds of cuisines, especially Mexican and Indian. I’m still learning and one day soon hope to get my online nutrition degree in plant-based cooking and maybe one day be a health coach.

About Me

My Home and Community

I live in sunny Los Angeles. The ocean, hiking trails and the bustle of downtown are all within a short drive from me. I’m also under a two-hour drive to San Diego (where my parents and brothers are) and only 20 minutes from my sister here in LA. Both Santa Monica and San Diego are lovely places to raise a child as both my sister and my mother will be helping me so much (and can’t wait).

Meet Christian: Christian is a big part of my life and very supportive of my decision to adopt! Christian and I met on Match.com over a shared love of dogs, fitness and music and have been together for over 5 years. He’s into skateboarding, snowboarding, video-games and making his own custom figures. He is excited to share all of these interests with my future child. His older sister adopted 2 children from Ethiopia that he helped raise so he has a lot of practice.

My Home and Community

Meet My 4-Legged Family

I rescued Lenny about 5 years ago and he has added so much to my life. I knew I wanted to rescue a dog but wasn’t sure when or where. One weekend I was visiting my sister and her kids in Santa Monica and there was a pet rescue event happening on the lawn right outside of a Starbucks. I stood there for a few minutes when Lenny came towards me and gave me the cutest ‘dog smile’. He came home with me that day! He fit in immediately and loves both of my cats. He also absolutely loves children.

My boyfriend’s dog, Harley, and the dog we rescued together, Leela, are going to make great older siblings as well. And even though Leela is blind, she is super self-sufficient!

In addition to the pups, I have a rescue cat, Murphy. Murphy is the largest orange tabby you will ever see and sweet as can be.

Meet My 4-Legged Family

Meet My Loved Ones

My family is large, supportive, and loving. I have always been extremely close to my parents, and I talk to them several times a week. My dad is super smart, scientific and analytical but also extremely creative as a writer and a musician. My mom is more the left-brained parent and she is truly the most optimistic, happy, inquisitive, creative, caring, and supportive person you will meet. My parents are a big part of my siblings lives as well and are very involved with all of their grandkids.

I have three brothers, Alan, Kevin, and Ryan, and one sister Kristen. The running theme in my family is always laughter. Whenever we are all together there are tons of jokes, sarcasm and laughter. Currently, all my brothers live in San Diego so I see them when I drive down. My sister lives near the beach here in Los Angeles in a lovely area called Santa Monica. I visit her, my two nieces (Molly and Sophie, ages 12 and 9) and my nephew Cian (age 3) every weekend and can’t imagine my life without them.  My brother Ryan and his wife Jessica have 2 kids, Max and Ellie, and I see them at least once a month. We typically spend the holidays at their house near the ocean.

It is important to me that my future child grows up surrounded by cousins and family. I want them to feel the same supportive, loving environment that I felt growing up.

Insights From My Family and Friends:

“Kim loves family and spends lots of time with her siblings, nieces and nephews. She brings humor and love to all who know her and makes life fun. Kim also has a love for all living creatures and always tries to be their advocate. I know she will share all these wonderful attributes with any child she is blessed with.”

  • My mom, Grandma L.

“My aunt is amazing! She is always trying to make time to hang out with us. She loves to listen to me sing, and is very encouraging about it. My aunt will be a wonderful mother. I know that because she is a wonderful aunt!”

  • Sophie, Niece age 12

“I think that Aunt Kiki would make a great mom because whenever she comes she always brings Lenny and a big smile. Kiki would also make an amazing mom because she always plays with us.”

  • Molly, Niece age 8

In Closing: Thank you for taking the time to learn about me, I can’t wait to learn more about you! I admire your strength and courage as you choose the best family for your child. I will make sure your child’s life is full of love, support and happiness. Along with the love and support of my own family, I will always be there to nurture and care for your child. You will always be a part of their adoption story, our story, because of you my dream to become a mother can come true.

Meet My Loved Ones